Katie Archibald won the women's omnium with 137 points ©Getty Images

Two-time Olympic champion Katie Archibald won the women's omnium for a second time at the International Cycling Union (UCI) Track Cycling World Championships with a dominant display over four events in Roubaix in France.

Archibald scored 137 points across the four-race event to beat Lotte Kopecky of Belgium and Italy's Elisa Balsamo, who respectively completed the top three with 119 and 116 points.

The British rider also won this event in 2017.

She began the day in confident fashion with a win in the scratch race, completing the 30 laps in 9min 53sec.

Archibald then won 14 of a possible 26 sprints in the tempo race and was the best rider in the race.

Another triumph came for the 27-year-old in the elimination race as she outlasted Balsamo on the last lap to take the race win in 16:20.

Complacency looked as though it could set in as she then came seventh in the points race, but in the end Archibald had developed an insurmountable lead.

Ashton Lambie became the first American in 11 years to stand on top of the podium in the men's individual pursuit.

Lambie led from start to finish in the deciding race against Jonathan Milan of Italy, crossing the line in 4:05.060 while Milan followed moments later in 4:06.149.

Milan's compatriot Filippo Ganna secured the bronze medal with a win over Claudio Imhof of Switzerland.

Emma Hinze powered to a second consecutive gold medal in the women's sprint as she outpaced Lea Sophie Friedrich in an all-German battle.

Canada's Kelsey Mitchell took home the bronze medal after beating countrywoman Laurianne Genest by 0.087sec in race one and 0.050 in race two.

The Netherlands' Jeffrey Hoogland added to his Tokyo 2020 gold medal with a stunning 58.418sec ride in the men's 1-kilometre time trial.

Nicholas Paul won Trinidad and Tobago's first-ever medal in the event in second place, while Germany's Joachim Eilers took the bronze medal.

Frenchman Benjamin Thomas' 94 points in the 160-lap men's points race was good enough for gold.

Thomas overcame Belgium's Kenny de Ketele by 10 points, while Vincent Hoppezak of The Netherlands scored 35 points to earn bronze.