Elana Meyers Taylor (left) and Lauren Gibbs (right) have both been selected for the United States IBSF World Cup team ©Getty Images

USA Bobsled and Skeleton (USABS) has announced its bobsleigh team for the 2016-2017 International Bobsleigh and Skeleton Federation (IBSF) World Cup.

Pilot Elana Meyers Taylor received a bye through trials after placing third at the World Championships last season.

It has been announced that the Sochi 2014 Olympic silver medallist and 2015 world champion will be accompanied by 2014 Olympic bronze medallist Jamie Greubel Poser and World Cup rookie pilot Brittany Reinbolt.

Making the squad as push athletes, meanwhile, are Aja Evans, Lolo Jones, Lauren Gibbs, Kehri Jones and rookie Briauna Jones who complete the women's bobsleigh squad.

Codie Bascue, the Vancouver 2010 Olympic champion in four man bobsleigh, Steven Holcomb and rookie World Cup pilot Justin Olsen, winner of two World Championships and one Olympic gold medal when pushing Steven Holcomb, have secured the three pilot spaces on the men's team.

Codie Bascue has been selected as one of three pilots in the men's team ©Getty Images
Codie Bascue has been selected as one of three pilots in the men's team ©Getty Images

They will be joined by Carlo Valdes, Jimmy Reed, Adrian Adams, Sam Michener, Evan Weinstock and Sam McGuffie who have all been selected as push athletes.

Nathan Gilsleider Austin Landis, Frank Del Duca, Luis Moreira and Christopher Kinney complete the team.

The IBSF World Cup is due to begin in Whistler in Canada on December 2.

Events are then scheduled to be held around the globe including in Lake Placid in the US, Igls in Austria and Pyeongchang in South Korea, which hosts the final stage.

There are also three stops in Germany on the World Cup schedule in Altenberg, Königssee and Winterberg.