Becky James has been named in the team after two injury disrupted seasons ©Getty Images

Becky James and Mark Cavendish have been named among Britain’s 21-rider squad for the 2016 International Cycling Union (UCI) Track World Championships in London.

James has been hampered by injuries since winning double gold at the 2013 Championships in Minsk, requiring both knee and shoulder surgeries.

The 24-year-old has been able to step up her comeback by competing at the Track World Cups in New Zealand and Hong Kong to secure her place on the team, as the sprinter targets the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

She will be joined in the host nation's squad by Katie Archibald and double Olympic champion Ed Clancy, who have recovered from knee and back injuries to be included as part of the women’s and men’s endurance teams respectively.

Cavendish is another eye-catching inclusion as he targets securing Britain’s sole men’s omnium place for Rio 2016, with the 26-time Tour de France stage winner hoping to manage both track and road commitments this year.

Having won the Tour of Qatar for his Dimension Data team on the road, he will return to the track as he seeks to fend off competition from Clancy and Jon Dibben for the omnium berth.

He will also join Sir Bradley Wiggins in the men’s madison at the Championships, with the duo having won the non-Olympic discipline the last time the event was held in Britain back in 2008.

Mark Cavendish is aiming to manage both track and road commitments as he aims for a Rio 2016 omnium place
Mark Cavendish is aiming to manage both track and road commitments as he aims for a Rio 2016 omnium place ©Getty Images

“We’ve selected the strongest squad available to us for these worlds - we’re in good shape and the team we’ve selected is close to the Olympic model,” said Shane Sutton, British Cycling technical director.

“It’s great to see Ed Clancy and Katie Archibald included on the squad and that’s testament to the hard work of the Performance Support Team who have ably led the rehabilitation of these riders following their respective injuries.

“Winning is always a key objective for any sports team and we’re sticking to our long-term goal which is success at the Olympic Games in Rio so we’ll be making performance decisions based on this strategy.

“That said, there’s been a marked increase in momentum within the squad recently and we’ve been seeing some promising numbers in training, so I’m expecting to see some strong performances across the board and spectators will be guaranteed to see some world-class competition.”

Katy Marchant and Jess Varnish have been selected alongside James for the women’s sprint events, while their endurance squad contains Laura Trott, Joanna Rowsell Shand, Elinor Barker, Ciara Horne and World Championship debutant Emily Nelson.

Olympic champions Jason Kenny and Phillip Hindes will be joined by Matt Crampton and Callum Skinner for the men’s sprint events.

Steven Burke, Owain Doull, Chris Latham and Andy Tennant complete the endurance squad selection, along with Dibben, Cavendish and Wiggins.

The Championships are due to take place at the Lee Valley VeloPark from March 2 to 6, the velodrome which hosted competition at the London 2012 Olympic Games.