By David Gold

bluehockeypitchlondon2012olympicsDecember 25 - Britain's women's hockey squad has been announced for the International Hockey Federation (FIH) Champions Trophy, taking place in Rosario, Argentina, from January 28 to February 5.

A successful 5-0 series win over the United States has put the squad in good shape for the Champions Trophy.

The competition will be a crucial part of the preparations for the London 2012 Olympic Games, for which Britain qualified after coming fifth in the Champions Trophy last year, and they will be in Pool A alongside champions and world number one Netherlands, as well as China and Japan.

Pool B includes Germany, the hosts Argentina, New Zealand and South Korea.

There is plenty of experience in the British ranks with the likes of Alex Danson and Helen Richardson travelling to Rosario, while along with Kate Walsh and Crista Cullen they will be the women the squad will look to to provide goals during the tournament.

EuroCanterbury's Dilly Newton misses out, as will Rebecca Herbert, Vikki Bunce and Susie Gilbert, who will have the consolation of travelling to Cordoba for a four nations tournament.

The coach Danny Kerry said: "We'll use the Champions Trophy to thoroughly scout teams in preparation for London 2012 and to continue to explore and develop our own combinations.

"All of the teams will be in varying states of preparation for 2012 and it will be interesting to see where they are and the effect it has on the tournament."

Britain will travel with the athletes taking part in the four nations tournament to Barcelona for a training camp at the start of January, playing three games.

Britain's squad in full: Ashleigh Ball (Slough), Laura Bartlett (Reading), Crista Cullen (Leicester), Alex Danson (Reading), Hannah Macleod (Leicester), Emily Maguire (Reading), Anne Panter (Leicester), Helen Richardson (Reading), Chloe Rogers (Leicester), Natalie Seymour (EuroCanterbury), Beth Storry (Reading), Sarah Thomas (Unattached), George Twigg (Clifton), Laura Unsworth (Loughborough Students), Sally Walton (Bowdon Hightown), Abi Walker (EuroCanterbury), Kate Walsh (Reading), Nicola White (Slough)

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]