By Tom Degun

mumbai_fighters_26-09-11September 29 - The Indian World Series of Boxing (WSB) franchise - which will debut its season two of the competition - has been named the Mumbai Fighters.

The WSB is owned by the International Boxing Association (AIBA) and is the only professional boxing competition that allows amateur boxers to retain their Olympic eligibility even though it features no head guards or vests and a professional-style scoring with three judges.

Season two of the competition will have a new look format with 12 teams divided into two groups of six.

The Mumbai Fighters will be in Group A alongside Pohang Poseidons, Dynamo Moscow, Dolce & Gabbana Milano Thunder, Astana Arlans and Los Angeles Matadors.

Meanwhile, Group B features defending champions Paris United, Istanbulls, Baku Fires, Beijing Dragons, Leipzig Leopards and Mexico City Guerreros.

The Mumbai Fighters launched their logo at the second edition of India International Sports Summit 2011 (IISS) this weekend and are owned by TransStadia Boxing India.

"The team name is quite apt and appealing for the Indian fans of boxing," said TransStadia's managing director Udit Sheth.

"In India, most of the boxers struggle their way through financial and social limitations.

"They become boxers fighting out the struggle with the punches of inner strength in pursuance of their dreams.

"Our team is made of such dreamers who can turn into doers.

"They are heroes, inspiration and symbol of courage for their fans.

"That's where we derive our team's name from."

Boxing is set to be one of India's leading medal hopes at the London 2012 Olympic Games after they claimed three gold medals at the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games last year and TransStadia had shortlisted 19 boxers for the Mumbai Fighters, 14 of which will represent the team.

Several of the boxers expected to compete are currently here in Baku for the 2011 AIBA World Boxing Championships, including India's light welterweight star Manoj Kumar (pictured right) who beat England's Bradley Saunders in the Delhi 2010 gold medal match.

The team itself will be unveiled to the media and country in mid-October, with bouts going on ground across the country between November and February before the knock-out stages that take place.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
September 2011: Leipzig Leopards set to compete in World Series of Boxing while Mexico City Guerreros return
July 2011: New look for World Series of Boxing in second season
May 2011: Derevyanchenko and Benchabla add names to WSB roll of honour
May 2011: Abutalipov, Wang and Russo claim first three boxing quota places for London 2012
April 2011: Exclusive - Japanese may enter World Series of Boxing