European Taekwon-Do Championships start in Lublin. ETC-LUBLIN2024/facebook

The ITF European Taekwon-Do Championships begin this Wednesday and run until next Sunday in Lublin, south-east Poland. The tournament will simultaneously host the 38th European Taekwon-Do Championships, the 29th European Junior Championships and the 1st European Pre-Junior Championships.

The Polish city of Lublin will welcome Europe's top taekwondo athletes from Wednesday 17th to Sunday 21st April in the Sports and Entertainment Hall of the Medical University of Lublin, located at Chodźki 15, 20-093, very close to the centre of this important Polish city.

A total of 839 registered athletes from 33 European countries will be competing at the European Championships. According to the ITF rules there will be competitions in all categories of individual and team patterns and sparring, pre-arranged sparring, special breaking techniques and power breaking.

A record number of 383 competitors will be vying for the top continental honours in the senior category, while the under-18s will also be well represented with more than 300 juniors aged 15-17 and 142 in the pre-junior category aged 12-14 making their debut in this type of competition.

Lublin will have the honour of hosting the first ever European Championships for pre-juniors, who will be able to compete for the honour of flying their country's flag at the highest point on the continent, following an ITF rule change.

This important European event, with three championships taking place at the same time and in the same place, is an opportunity for the Polish Taekwon-Do Federation to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the introduction of Taekwon-Do in Poland with the entire European Taekwon-Do community. 

However, it's not just Poland that will be celebrating, as the European Taekwon-Do Federation (AETF) will also be celebrating its 45th anniversary. Competitions will start at 8am and finish at 5pm, with competitions in all categories from Wednesday to Saturday, and the senior finals on Sunday. The opening ceremony is scheduled for 20:00 local time.