Messi, Haaland and Mbappé nominated for FIFA Men's Player of the Year Award. FIFA

There were no surprises in the announcement of the world's best players. Lionel Messi, the reigning Ballon d'Or winner, will battle it out with Mbappé and Norway's Haaland for the title of the world's best player, according to FIFA. In the women's category, Bonmati, Caicedo and Hermoso are vying for the honour.

The finalists for the FIFA Men's and Women's World Player of the Year Awards and the FIFA Puskás Award have been announced. The winners will receive their awards on 15 January 2024 in London, along with the FIFA Puskás Award for the world's most beautiful goal.

In the women's category, the three finalists for The Best FIFA Women's Player Award are:

Aitana Bonmatí (Spain / FC Barcelona)

Linda Caicedo (Colombia / Deportivo Cali Femenino / Real Madrid CF)

Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / CF Pachuca Femenil)

This award recognizes the most outstanding female footballers between August 1, 2022, and August 20, 2023, the date of the final of this year's FIFA Women's World Cup.

On the other hand, the finalists for The Best FIFA Men's Player Award, highlighting the performance of the best footballers between December 19, 2022, and August 20, 2023, are:

Lionel Messi (Argentina / Paris Saint-Germain / Club Internacional de Fútbol Miami)

Erling Haaland (Norway / Manchester City FC)

Kylian Mbappé (France / Paris Saint-Germain)

The nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award are:

Julio Enciso (Paraguay / Brighton & Hove Albion FC)

Guilherme Madruga (Brazil / Botafogo Futebol Clube)

Nuno Santos (Portugal / Sporting CP)

On Monday 15 January, the winners will be announced in the birthplace of football. As in 2017 and 2018, London will dress up to pay tribute to the best athletes in the sport with the most fans in the world. The new winners, with the exception of the Santa Fe native Lio Messi, who is the only one who can repeat, will replace the previous winners Alexia Putellas and Marcin Oleksy.