Australia's Saya Sakakibara won the women's BMX World Cup title at the season's eighth round in Santiago del Estero ©Getty Images

Roman Mahieu and Saya Sakakibara won the BMX World Cup titles at the season’s eighth round in Santiago del Estero.

The couple won the elite races in the Argentinian city in a repeat of the result from the World Cup round at Papendal in the Netherlands in June.

France’s Mahieu won the men’s race in a time of 30.054sec.

Cameron Wood of the United States took second in 30.569, with the podium completed by Switzerland’s Simon Marquart in 30.765.

In the women’s event, victory went to Australia’s Saya Sakakibara, who competed at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, crashing out in the semi-finals.

Sakakibara, whose other half is Mahieu, took victory in a time of 32.077.

Reigning Olympic champion Beth Shriever of Britain placed second with 32.424, with third going to France’s Axelle Etienne with 32.483.

In the women’s under-23 race victory went to France’s Tessa Martinez in 33.873, with the men’s under-23 title going to her compatriot Mateo Colsenet in 31.026.

The ninth round of the World Cup season is due to be held in Santiago del Estero as well, and is due to take place on Friday (October 13).