Kiriyo Suzuki, left, and Loreen Barnett, centre, and Iván Raña, right, were all inducted to the World Triathlon Hall of Fame ©World Triathlon

World Triathlon has inducted four members to its Hall of Fame alongside the World Triathlon Championship Finals here.

Former world champions Siri Lindley of the United States and Iván Raña of Spain were joined by Japan's Kiriyo Suzuki and Loreen Barnett from Canada in entering the prestigious club.

Lindley triumphed in the women's race at the 2001 Triathlon World Championships under the old single-event format, having entered the event as a wildcard wearing number 60.

She also won overall World Cups in 2001 and 2002, and was credited as "an icon and an incredible ambassador for triathlon".

She was presented as a member of the Hall of Fame by World Triathlon honorary member Bill Walker.

Raña won the men's world title in 2002 and silvers at the World Championships in 2003 and 2004.

His racing career spanned 24 years through to 2020, including three appearances at the Olympic Games.

His induction was presented by compatriot, five-time world champion and London 2012 Olympic silver medallist Javier Gómez Noya.

Suzuki was inducted by World Triathlon sport director Gergely Markus as winner of the Michel Gignoux award and Barnett by World Triathlon President and International Olympic Committee member Marisol Casado as winner of the lifetime achievement award.

Saudi Arabia's Jude Jamjoom, centre, won the World Triathlon Women's Committee award of excellence ©World Triathlon
Saudi Arabia's Jude Jamjoom, centre, won the World Triathlon Women's Committee award of excellence ©World Triathlon

Japanese Triathlon Union Executive Board member Suzuki has been part of the technical official programme since the sport's Olympic debut at Sydney 2000.

The award is named after Gignoux, a key official in the development of the International Triathlon Union (ITU) from its founding in 1989.

He was due to be technical delegate at the Athens 2004 Olympics, but died with cancer before the Games.

Barnett was secretary general of the ITU, which rebranded as World Triathlon in 2020, from 2009 to 2016 and first vice-president from 2017 to 2021.

She competed in Canada's first triathlon in 1981 and was also a founding member of Triathlon Canada.

In Pontevedra, the World Triathlon Women's Committee also named Saudi Arabia's Jude Jamjoom as winner of its award of excellence.

Jamjoom served as vice-president of her National Federation from 2021, and was credited by Women's Committee chair Tomoko Wada with "providing opportunities across her country for athletes, coaches and TOs [technical officials] organising workshops and webinars".

Initiatives she has spearheaded have included women's schools to introduce the concept of triathlon, and she has created "a comfortable environment for girls and women to do triathlon in a society where social awareness is varied".

The World Triathlon Championship Finals are due to run until tomorrow.