Nutcharut Wongharuthai of Thailand won the World Women's Snooker Championship final in dramatic fashion, defeating Wendy Jans 6-5 on the final black ©World Women's Snooker

Nutcharut Wongharuthai of Thailand won the World Women’s Snooker Championship final 6-5, claiming victory on the final black in the deciding frame.

Wongharuthai edged past Wendy Jans of Belgium in a dramatic finish at the Ding Junhui Snooker Academy in Sheffield, after a fascinating match that lasted five hours and 40 minutes.

The victory means Wongharuthai, runner-up at the previous edition of this tournament in 2019 to England’s Reanne Evans, earns a place on the professional World Snooker Tour.

It is the second time in this tournament that Wongharuthai has won a knockout match by potting the final black of the deciding frame, as the same scenario unfolded in her quarter-final with Ng On Yee of Hong Kong yesterday.

In today's final, Wongharuthai led 1-0 and 2-1 before Jans got herself in front at the mid-session interval by three frames to two.

The Belgian opened up a two frame advantage to lead 4-2 and again at 5-3, putting herself a frame away from victory.

Wongharuthai kept her hopes of the title alive in the penultimate frame when she made her highest break of the match, 32, to force a decider.

In the decider, Wongharuthai put herself on the brink of victory but missed the yellow with only the colours left on the table.

Jans potted the yellow and green, and during an exchange on the brown earned four points when Wongharuthai made a foul.

Needing to clear the remaining colours to win, Jans potted the brown, blue and pink, before missing the black at distance.

She left it in a potable position and Wongharuthai stroked it into the right middle pocket to seal victory by the finest of margins.

The semi-finals were played earlier in the day, with Wongharuthai defeating England’s Rebecca Kenna 5-1, while Jans overcame England’s Jamie Hunter 5-2.

As well as a place on the World Snooker Tour, Wongharuthai, 22, who is nicknamed Mink, has won the Mandy Fisher Trophy, which is named after the current President of World Women’s Snooker.