Scott Reardon is one of 24 new names for Australia on the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics squad ©Getty Images

Australia has added a further 24 members to its athletics team for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics, bringing its total squad size up to 36 athletes.

Nine debutants were announced by Paralympics Australia, as well as the experienced trio of Christie Dawes, Evan O'Hanlon and Angie Ballard.

London 2012 shot put gold medallist Todd Hodgetts and Rio 2016 100 metres champion Scott Reardon also feature in the final selection for the country's athletics squad.

"If you look at the results from 2013 onwards, we’ve been building and we’ve got a good mix of youth and experience now," said Reardon.

"At the 2017 and 2019 World Championships we had strong years, so now we’ve got to try and capitalise on some of those results.

"There are a number of people in this team who are capable of winning medals - and top medals as well - which is fantastic."

Reardon has not competed internationally since the 2017 World Championships - where he won the men's 100m T42 - but will return for his third Paralympics.

Tim Logan and Vincent Donnadieu will be part of the team as able-bodied guides for visually-impaired runner Jarryd Clifford in the men's marathon.

Luke Bailey, Daniel Bounty, Michal Burian, Ari Gesini, Alissa Jordaan, Robyn Lambird, Jaydon Page, Samantha Schmidt and Maria Strong will feature on the Australian Paralympic team for the first time.

"The Australian Para-athletics team has such a rich history of success at the Paralympic Games, but what’s more exciting is the mix of experience we have on this team," said Athletics Australia chief executive Peter Bromley.

"We have real veterans - Christie Dawes is going to her seventh Paralympic Games, an achievement only one other Australian track and field representative has surpassed. 

"We have Angie Ballard and Evan O’Hanlon at their sixth and fourth Games respectively, and we have nine more burgeoning debutants, all of whom are eager to wear the green and gold and make their contribution.

"This team has a big task ahead of them, but we’re looking forward to seeing all 36 track and field representatives compete. It’s been a long wait, but I know they’re ready to do our nation proud and I can’t wait to see them in action."

Also added to the team were Samuel Carter, Samuel Harding, Guy Henly, Isis Holt, Nicholas Hum, Rosemary Little, Sam McIntosh, Ella Pardy, Jayden Sawyer and Sarah Walsh.

Previously, Clifford was one of 10 athletes confirmed in September 2020, being joined by Corey Anderson, Eliza Ault-Connell, Rhiannon Clarke, Madison de Rozario, Sarah Edmiston, Deon Kenzie, Rio 2016 long jump champion Vanessa Low, Rheed McCracken and Michael Roeger.

Roeger and De Rozario are set to compete at their fourth Games.

Visually impaired sprinter Chad Perris and cerebral palsy 800m runner James Turner were added to the squad in April.

The Tokyo 2020 Paralympics is scheduled to take place from August 24 to September 5.