Sweden's Team Elisabet Gustafson have been inducted into the WCF Hall of Fame ©WCF

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has announced three new inductees into its Hall of Fame for 2020, including Sweden's four-time world champions team Elisabet Gustafson.

Another two recipients, Canada’s Gordon Craig and Sweden’s Leif Öhman, will be inducted as builders.

Team Elisabet Gustafson will be the second elite curling team, and first women’s curling team, to be inducted into the WCF Hall of Fame.

Gustafson is already a member of the WCF Hall of Fame, having been inducted in 2012.

The remainder of her team - third Katarina Nyberg, second Louise Marmont and lead Elisabeth Persson – join her in being bestowed with the WCF's highest non-playing honour.

Gustafson’s Swedish team won the World Women’s Curling Championships in 1992, 1995, 1998 and 1999. 

They also claimed bronze at the 1998 Winter Olympic Games in Japanese city Nagano, and have four European Curling Championship titles to their names, from 1992, 1993, 1997 and 2000.

In 2017, Canada's Ernie, Arnold, Garnet and Wes Richardson were the first complete international curling team to be inducted into the WCF Hall of Fame.

Elisabet Gustafson competed at two Winter Olympic Games, including Salt Lake City 2002 ©Getty Images
Elisabet Gustafson competed at two Winter Olympic Games, including Salt Lake City 2002 ©Getty Images

Craig was the visionary behind Canada’s dedicated sports channel, The Sports Network (TSN).

He was influential in the first television broadcasts of the World Men’s Curling Championship and the Canadian men’s national curling championship, The Brier, in the 1960s, while at the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC).

After leaving CBC, Craig founded TSN, Canada’s first 24-hour sports channel. 

Then, under the umbrella of NetStar Communications, he founded Réseau des sports – a 24-hour French language sports network – as well as Discovery Channel Canada and the production company, Dome Productions, who are still involved with the production of international curling events today.

In 2016, Craig was a recipient of the Order of Canada, one of the country’s highest civilian honours.

Öhman, has been vital in the development of dedicated curling ice since the 1980s, and has pursued new knowledge and technologies to enhance its quality.

Öhman was chief ice technician at three Winter Olympics – Nagano 1998, Salt Lake City 2002 and Turin 2006 – and was technical delegate at Salt Lake City 2002, Turin 2006, Sochi 2014 and Pyeongchang 2018.

In addition, he was the chief ice technician at eight World Curling Championships – women’s, men’s and juniors – between 1985 and 2005.

"Congratulations to our World Curling Hall of Fame 2020 inductees," WCF President Kate Caithness said.

"I’m looking forward to presenting each of them, along with Scotland’s Mike Thomson – who was a 2019 inductee – with the Elmer Freytag award at upcoming and future World Championships.

"The influence Team Gustafson, Leif and Gordon have had on our sport, in their respective fields and countries and across the world has set strong foundations for the developments that ultimately saw curling accepted into the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games."