Japan and hosts South Korea both feature in the five-team field ©IWRF

The 2019 International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) Asia-Oceania Championship is set to begin tomorrow in Gangneung.

Hosts South Korea are among the three teams battling it out for a place at next year's Paralympic Games in Tokyo.

With Japan already qualified as the Paralympic host nation and Australia securing their spot at last year's IWRF World Championships in Sydney, the five-team tournament will see South Korea competing against New Zealand and Thailand for a Tokyo 2020 berth - the highest-ranked team will join the field.

The first-place finisher in the round-robin group stage goes straight through to the final, on Monday (September 9).

The other finalist will be the winner of the match between the runners-up and third-place finishers on Sunday (September 8).

New Zealand are among the three countries aiming for Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images
New Zealand are among the three countries aiming for Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

Rio 2016 Paralympic gold medallists Australia enter the tournament as defending champions and will be gunning for their eighth gold medal since the IWRF Asia-Oceania Championship was first staged in 2001.

World champions Japan are out to claim gold for the second time, following their triumph in 2015.

Tomorrow's action starts with Australia facing Thailand and Japan meeting New Zealand.

The Opening Ceremony will then be held before South Korea go up against Thailand and New Zealand do battle with Australia.