August 31 - Ugur Erdener (pictured) has been re-elected as the President of the world archery governing body FITA during the second day of the organisation's Congress in Ulsan, South Korea.

 The Turk, had originally been elected as President in 2005 when he defeated Britain's Lynne Evans after Jim Easton stood down after 16 years in charge.

Last year he was also elected as a member of the International Olympic Committee.

After his re-election, Erdener proposed that Belgium's Tom Dielen be elected to carry on as Secretary General, which was accepted by the Congress.

Erdener said the main aim of his second term was to implement the World Archery Plan, which was launched to help make the sport more popularly internationally.

A number of focus groups are already working on the Plan, which is focussing on archery's identity, events, promotion, partnerships and expansion.

Erdener said: “We have made some great progress in the last few years and we created a great team atmosphere at FITA.

"The long-term success of the World Archery Plan depends on every one of us.

"I really mean every one of us, from the congress delegates to the people working for the member associations and even at club level.

"Every one is a part of the World Archery Plan.

"I hope now everybody sees it in him or herself and I would like to thank everyone for their involvement so far.  


"FITA has his sight on a bright future."

A number of other appointments were made, including the re-election as Vice-Presidents of France's Philippe Bouclet and Thailand's Sanguan Kosavinta.

Russia's Vladimir Esheev, Italy's Mario Scarzella and Austria's Trudy Medved will stay on the ruling Council and they will be joined by Japan's Kotaro Hata.

The Congress also ratified the agreement between FITA and the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) for them to take over as the governing body for Paralympic competitors.

A new Para-Archery Committee was created under the leadership of Britain's Ann Webb, who will be the honorary chairwoman of the new group.

She had also previously been the chairwoman of the former transition committee.

Italy's Marco Carppignano, Holland's Rita Van Driel, New Zealand's Carole Hicks and Switzerland's Hans-Peter Werlen were elected onto the new committee.

There were also elections for a number of other committees, including the Technical Committee which Britain's Jonathan Shales among those elected.

Archery GB were also given a special prize after finishing second in the Gender Equity awards behind the Russian Archery Federation.

Related stories
June 2009:
Archery to be powered by new technology partner
April 2009: Archery signs sponsorship deal with Turkish Airlines
March 2009: New sponsorship deal for archery
February 2009: Archery signs new partnership to develop sport
December 2008:
Archery to rebrand itself for London 2012