Diede de Groot will be making her grand slam debut at the Australian Open later this month ©Getty Images

Rio 2016 medallists Diede de Groot of The Netherlands and Australian Heath Davidson are set to make their Grand Slam debuts later this month at the Australian Open Wheelchair Tennis Event.

The tournament is set to take place at Melbourne Park from January 25 to 28 and De Groot and Davidson are among 20 players who will compete across four days of competition at the first major competition of the year.

Singles entries are headlined by defending champions Gordon Reid of Great Britain in the wheelchair men's event, Jiske Griffioen of The Netherlands in the wheelchair women's competitions and Australia’s Dylan Alcott in the men's quad singles.

Davidson, who won gold in Rio with Alcott in the men's doubles, his fellow Australian Ben Weekes and Katharina Kruger of Germany are the three players awarded the wildcard places in each competition.

De Groot, a silver medallist in the women's doubles in Rio, is one of four Dutch players set to contest the women’s wheelchair singles, alongside her Paralympics partner and reigning French Open champion Marjolein Buis, Griffioen and former Australian Open winner Anie van Koot.

Japan's Yui Kamiji is seeded second in the competition.

World number one Gordon Reid will be defending his men's wheelchair singles title in Melbourne ©Getty Images
World number one Gordon Reid will be defending his men's wheelchair singles title in Melbourne ©Getty Images

Elsewhere, world number one Reid heads the men’s wheelchair singles field as he prepares to return to the scene of his maiden Grand Slam singles title in 2016.

Alfie Hewett is set to make his Australian Open debut after he marked his Grand Slam bow at Wimbledon last year with victory in the men’s doubles alongside Reid.

Weekes' wildcard means he is set to contest the main draw at his home Grand Slam for the first time since 2012.

France's Stephane Houdet is seeded second while Belgian Joachim Gerard completes the top three.

Double Rio gold medallist Alcott, named Australia’s Paralympian of the Year in 2016, leads the quad singles field and will be aiming to win his third successive Australian Open title.

World number two David Wagner of the United States already has three Australian Open quad singles titles to his name.

The American is the only other previous champion in the field, while former US Open champion Andy Lapthorne will be aiming for his first singles title at Melbourne Park.