José Perurena will serve a third term as ICF President ©ICF

José Perurena has been confirmed as the International Canoe Federation (ICF) President for a third term at the governing body’s Congress in Baku in Azerbaijan.

The 71-year-old Perurena, head of the world governing body since 2008, was unopposed for the position.

The Spaniard has overseen several key initiatives such as the inclusion of Para-canoeing into Rio 2016, as well as the television deals for the sport during his tenure.

Having been confirmed to lead the organisation for a further four years the International Olympic Committee member and International World Games Association President asserted his administration were open minded and keen to progress the sport.

“I have been involved in canoeing for my whole life and it’s a great honour to be chosen to lead this sport through the next Olympic cycle as we move towards Tokyo 2020,” Perurena, who represented Spain in the K-4 1000 metres at Mexico City 1968, said.

"This Congress has shown that our sport is in good hands and that administration is open minded and keen to progress.

"I was pleased that at yesterday’s Extraordinary Congress we gained support for our new governance structure.

"This provides a clear message that, as a sport, we are ready for future and now [Continental Presidents added to the Executive Committee] have guaranteed global representations within our executive committee.

"As a Congress we have put forward several motions to increase gender equality both on and off the water, this point was underlined here in Azerbaijan with an exact 50:50 split of candidates for the three vice-president positions and under the new structure we are guaranteed that both genders will be represented.

"Finally, I would also like to say a big thank you to the Azerbaijan Canoe Federation that have worked tirelessly to ensure a successful event."

Three vice-presidents were elected at the Congress with six candidates having stood for the posts ©ICF
Three vice-presidents were elected at the Congress with six candidates having stood for the posts ©ICF

Elections for several key positions within the organisation were also decided, with two men and one woman elected as vice presidents.

Three-time Olympic champion Tony Estanguet was re-elected to his post, with German Canoe Federation President Thomas Konietzko and Pan American Canoe Federation chief Cécilia Farias of Argentina also succeeding.

The trio saw off competition from current vice-president Joao Manuel de Costa Alegre Afonso of Portugal, Italy’s Luciano Buonfiglio, Australia’s Helen Brownlee and Russia’s Elena Iskakova.

Buonfiglio retained his position as the ICF treasurer after being re-elected ahead of Australia’s Danielle Woodward and Denmark’s Christian Jakobsen.

Frank Garner remains the chair of the ICF Canoe Sprint Committee, with the Canadian being re-elected ahead of Miroslav Haviar of Slovakia, Hungary’s Istvan Vaskuti and Russia’s Nikolay Mordvin.

Croatia’s Tomislav Crnkovic was elected unopposed as chair of the Wildwater Committee, replacing Germany’s Jens Perlwitz in the post.

The ICF Congress voted on the chairs over several committees in Baku ©ICF
The ICF Congress voted on the chairs over several committees in Baku ©ICF

Andrea Donzelli was unseated as the Canoe Polo Committee chair, with Britain’s Gregory Smale defeating the Italian.

France's Jean-Michel Prono and Denmark's Jorn Cronberg, the Canoe Slalom and Marathon Committeechairs, were unopposed for re-election in their positions.

Medical and Anti-Doping Committee chair Donald McKenzie of Canada and Freestyle Committee official Lluis Rabaneda i Caselles of Spain also retained their posts without challenge.

As did Ocean Racing Committee chair Mario Santos of Portugal and Paracanoe Committee chair John Edwards of Canada.