Pattaya Tadtong will aim to defend his BC1 title in Rio ©Getty Images

Reigning world and Paralympic champion Pattaya Tadtong is the headline name in the BC1 individual boccia competition at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games next month.

The Thai star beat his team-mate Witsanu Haudpradit in the BC1 final at the Boccia International Sports Federation (BISFed) World Individual Boccia Championships in Beijing.

Tadtong, however, will be their only representative in the event in Rio.

He will expect to face the challenge of David Smith, who he beat in the semi-finals of the World Championship to end the Briton’s title defence.

A total of 16 athletes will compete in the BC1 competition at the Paralympic Games, while 24 will take part in the BC2 event.

The BC2 competition will feature home hopeful Maciel Sousa Santos, who won gold at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

His team-mate and fellow Paralympic champion Dirceu Pinto will be one of 16 competitors in the BC4 event in Rio.

South Korea will expect to mount a strong challenge for medals in the BC3 classification, as they boast the reigning Paralympic and world champions.

Maciel Sousa Santos will be a major medal hope for hosts Brazil ©Getty Images
Maciel Sousa Santos will be a major medal hope for hosts Brazil ©Getty Images

Ye-Jin Choi earned the gold medal at London 2012 after beating his team-mate Ho-Won Jeong in the final, but his rival triumphed at the World Championships earlier this year.

Hosts Brazil, Britain, Canada, China, Hong Kong, Slovakia, Portugal and Thailand will also contest the BC4 pairs competition.

Belgium, Greece, South Korea and Singapore will join Brazil, Britain, Canada and Portugal in contesting the BC3 pairs event.

A total of 12 nations will strive for medals in the team competition, with Argentina, Brazil, Britain, China, The Netherlands, Hong Kong, Japan, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Thailand and Portugal having been confirmed as entrants by BisFed.

Boccia competition at the Games will take place in Riocentro in the Barra Cluster of Rio de Janeiro, between September 10 and 16.