By Gary Anderson

Indian Abhinav Bindra is set to serve another term on the ISSF Athletes' Committee ©Getty ImagesIndia's former Olympic champion Abhinav Bindra is one of four athletes that have been elected to the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) Athletes' Committee as the World Championships in Granada draw to a close.

Beijing 2008 men's 10 metre air rifle champion Bindra, who is also a former world champion and a four-time Commonwealth Games gold medallist, has been elected alongside Serbian Zorana Arunovic, Italy's Marco De Nicolo and Henri Junghaenel of Germany.

Arunovic has also tasted World Championships success, while De Nicolo has appeared at three Olympic Games.

Junghaenel was in fine form during last year's World Cup series, leading to him being awarded the ISSF Shooter of the Year accolade in 2013.

The athletes polled the highest number of votes from a shortlist of 13 during elections in Spain.

Zorana Arunovic of Serbia is one of four shooters elected to the ISSF Athletes' Committee in Granada ©Getty ImagesZorana Arunovic of Serbia is one of four shooters elected to the ISSF Athletes' Committee in Granada ©Getty Images

Bindra and De Nicolo are set to serve a second term on the Committee which is currently chaired by Finland's Juha Hirvi and also includes Franck Dumoulin of France, Russian Vladimir Isakov, American Dr Susan Nattrass and Zuzana Rehak Stefecekova of Slovakia.

The remaining three spots on the Committee will be appointed by the ISSF at the next meeting of its Executive Committee in Munich on November 29, where a chairman will also be appointed.

The ISSF says a complete result of the elections, including the number of votes obtained by each candidate, will be released following the meeting in November.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
September 2014: 
Shooting star Bindra criticises Indian officials after they miss Incheon 2014 deadline