By Gary Anderson

September 4 - Bowling is looking for 2024 Olympic Games inclusionThe World Tenpin Bowling Association (WTBA), the international governing body of bowling has rebranded to become World Bowling and also launched a new logo as it steps up its ambitions to become an Olympic sport.

The new direction and aims of the organisation were ratified by delegates at its two-day Congress in Las Vegas and received unanimous support was given to a resolution which will see the leadership of World Bowling begin actively campaigning for the inclusion of bowling in the next International Olympic Committee (IOC) round of short-listed sports up for consideration for the Games programme.

A decision is expected to be taken in 2017.

With wrestling, squash and baseball/softball awaiting a decision on their 2020 Olympic inclusion at the IOC Session in Buenos Aires on Sunday (September 8), bowling is aiming to be on the shortlist of sports for the 2024 Games.

"The decision of the Congress marks a new era for World Bowling," said World Bowling President, Kevin Dornberger.

"I was impressed by the level of ambition and commitment of all our national federations - we are clearly ready for the next step in the development of our sport.

"World Bowling will follow with great interest the decision of the IOC members later this week in Buenos Aires and we wish wrestling, squash and baseball/softball the best of luck.

"Our aim is to be on the ballot the next time around."

The governing body claims that there are over 100 million people who participate in bowling every year, with over 10 million taking part in tournaments, leagues and Championships.

In all, the WTBA or World Bowling as it will now be known, has 112 member federations which are divided amongst three continental zones.

World Bowling's new logo is inspired by the Olympic coloursWorld Bowling's new logo is inspired by the Olympic colours

The American zone is governed by the Pan-American Bowling Federation (PABCON) the Asia Bowling Federation (ABF) governs the Asian zone while the European zone is overseen by the European Tenpin Bowling Federation (ETBF).

These  Confederations host a number of national and continental Championships while a World Championship event for men and women takes place every four years.

The next men's Championships are set to take place in Abu Dhabi in November next year while the women's Championships are also scheduled for Abu Dhabi in November 2015.

The new World Bowling brand will be officially promoted at all international competitions starting from 2014, and the new logo includes the five Olympic colours which it hopes will emphasise and promote the organisation's Olympic ambitions.

Lausanne-based international sports consulting firm TSE Consulting is advising World Bowling on its rebranding strategy.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related Stories
February 2013: Bowling confirmed on Toronto 2015 sports programme