Bangladesh will be among the favourites to seal their place at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham at the qualifying tournament in Kuala Lumpur ©Getty Images

Five nations are set to lock horns in Kuala Lumpur for the final spot in the women’s Twenty20 cricket competition at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

Hosts Malaysia, Bangladesh, Kenya, Scotland and Sri Lanka will battle it out in a round-robin tournament over the next six days.

The winner will join India, Australia, Barbados, England, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa at Birmingham 2022 where women’s cricket will make its Commonwealth Games debut.

They will also drop into Group B alongside hosts England, New Zealand and South Africa in Birmingham.

Competition in Kuala Lumpur is due to start tomorrow at the Kinrara Academy Oval with Malaysia taking on Scotland and Bangladesh meeting Kenya.

Scotland were among the travelling teams to face a seven-day quarantine upon arrival in Malaysia due to COVID-19 restrictions.

But captain Kathryn Bryce said Scotland’s 14-strong squad were ready to fight for their Birmingham 2022 place.

"The fact that it’s a Commonwealth Games, with all that represents, makes being involved in it a really exciting prospect," said Bryce.

"I was in Glasgow [in 2014], and the way in which it brought everyone together from so many different sports was amazing.

"Even the qualifying side of it, a completely different tournament to the usual ones we play, is very exciting for us to be a part of.

"We’ve been training on really good pitches with fast outfields, but coming from Scotland in the winter is quite a big change, getting used to the heat.

"But we did everything we could in preparation and we’ve been really lucky to have a few extra days to get used to it so we can feel a bit more comfortable when we get out to play the matches."

The women’s cricket tournament is scheduled to run from July 29 to August 7 at Birmingham 2022 with all the matches played at Edgbaston Cricket Ground.

India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Pakistan qualified for the Commonwealth Games based on the International Cricket Council Women’s T20I team rankings as of April 2021, while England gained automatic qualification as host.

Barbados was chosen by Cricket West Indies was represent the region at the Games after a qualifying tournament was postponed last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.