Paralympic triathlon champion Jetze Plat of The Netherlands won his second gold medal at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships in Cascais, Portugal today ©Getty Images

Jetze Plat of The Netherlands earned his second gold on the final day of the Para-cycling Road World Championships in Cascais in Portugal today.

Competing at the former Formula One circuit in Estoril, the 30-year-old Dutch hand cyclist - who won Paralympic triathlon gold and took bronze in the H5 road race at the Rio 2016 Games - added the H4 road race title to the time trial version he won on Friday.

He completed the eight-lap, 67.2-kilometre course at this International Cycling Union (UCI) event in 1 hour 37min 48sec.

Silver went to Austria’s Thomas Fruhwirth in 1:38:16, with Switzerland’s Fabian Recher winning a mass sprint to take bronze in 1:41:32.

Plat thus emulated the earlier achievement at these World Championships of Britain’s 43-year-old Dame Sarah Storey, who in the C5 category added the road race title to the time trial version secured on Thursday (June 10).

Britain’s Tokyo 2020-bound cyclist, who has earned 15 Paralympic gold medals - nine in cycling and five in swimming - secured her 12th world road gold as she won the C5 road race in a sprint from Germany’s Kerstin Brachtendorf and RPC rider Alina Punina, with all being credited with 1:52:01.

In other hand cycling road races today Nicolas Du Preez of South Africa edged Italy’s Fabrizio Cornegliani to the men’s H1 title in a sprint finish that saw both given a time of 1:38:08sec for the five-lap, 42.0km course.

Belgium’s Maxime Hordies took bronze, 1min 32sec further back.

The H2 title went to Italy’s Luca Mazzone, who won over the six-lap, 50.4km course in 1hr 29min 04sec, four seconds clear of Spain’s Sergio Garrote Munoz, with bronze going to Florian Jouanny of France in 1:31:07.

The men's H3 title went to Riadh Tarsim of France in a sprint finish from Germany's Vico Merklein and Spain's Luis Miguel Garcei-Marquina Cascallana, with all three clocking 1:48:29.

Mitch Valize of The Netherlands won the H5 title after beating France's Loic Vergnaud in a sprint, with both clocking 1:46:26.

Bronze went to Tim de Vries of The Netherlands at 1min 34sec.

Simona Canipara of Italy won the women’s H1 road race title run over a three-lap, 25.2m course in 1:46:23.

Roberta Amadeo of Italy took the women’s H2 title over a five-lap, 42.0km course in 1:41:15.

Germany’s Annika Zeyen took the H3 title on a sprint finish from Italy’s Francesca Porcellato, with both clocking 1:50:16 for the seven-lap, 58.8km distance, followed by Renata Kaluza of Poland, who took bronze in 1:51:05.

The women’s H4 title, raced over 58.8km, saw Jennette Jansen of The Netherlands earn gold in 1:49:49 from Swiss riders Sandra Stockli, who clocked 1:51:52, and Silke Pan, who finished in 1:52:07.

Chantal Haenen of The Netherlands took gold in the 58.8km H5 road race, beating Ana Maria Vitelaru of Italy in a sprint finish with both clocking 2:03:33.

Vitelaru’s team mate Katia Aere took bronze in 2:03:37.

In women’s tricycle, the T1 road race title went to Canada’s Shelley Gautier, who clocked 1:05:27 over a three-lap, 25.2km course, with silver going to RPC's Yulia Sibagatova in 1:08:11.

The T2 road race came down to a sprint finish, with Germany’s Jana Majunke getting gold, Jill Walsh of the United States taking silver and Germany’s Angelika Dreock-Kaser bronze, all in 1:07:06.      

In men’s tricycle racing, the T1 road race over a three-lap, 25.2km course was won by Italy’s Giorgio Farroni in 49:30, from Spain’s Gonzalo Garcia Abella, who clocked 53:13, and Petr Berger of the Czech Republic, who recorded 57:27.

The T2 title went to Tim Celen of Belgium, who outsprinted Colombia’s Juan Jose Betancourt Quiroga, with both being timed at 1:01:12 over the four-lap, 33.6km course.

Bronze went to Spain’s Joan Reinoso Figuerola in 1:01:14.

In cycling road races run over an eight-lap, 67.2km course the men’s C1 event was won by Germany’s Pierre Senska, who clocked 1:46:16, winning a sprint involving silver medallist Spain’s Ricardo Ten Argiles and bronze medallist Mikhail Astashov of RPC.

Alexandre Léauté of France won the men’s C2 road race in 1:40:05 from Arslan Gilmutdinov of PRC, who clocked 1:40:29, and Ewoud Vromant of Belgium, who finished in 1:42:10.

The men’s C3 road race saw Italy’s Fabio Anobile win a mass sprint of 12 given a time of 1:50:56, with Stijn Boersma of The Netherlands taking silver and Finlay Graham of Britain bronze.

Marie-Claude Molnar of Canada won the women’s C4 title in 1:56:17 from RPC Elena Galkina in 2:01:41 and France’s Katell Alencon, who clocked 2:03:50.