Ti Chen is one of the players on the men's ITF tennis panel ©Getty Images

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) has announced the athletes that have been elected to the ITF World Tennis Tour Player Panels.

Taking place from May 28 to June 10, the election saw more than 1,000 players who compete on the ITF World Tennis Tour vote for their preferred nominee.

The men's tennis panel will be made up of Jose Bendeck from Colombia, Ti Chen from Chinese Taipei, Niki Kalayanda Poonacha from India, Juan Pablo Paz from Argentina, Aldin Sektic from Bosnia and Herzegovina, Francesco Vilardo from Italy and another athlete yet to be decided.

On the women's tennis panel, there is Akgul Amanmuradova from Uzbekistan, Ines Ibbou from Algeria, Petra Januskova from the Czech Republic, Yuliana Lizarazo from Colombia, Tara Moore from Britain, Conny Perrin from Switzerland and Olivia Tjandramulia from Australia.

Moore in particular has been critical of the Players' Relief Programme, which aims to redistribute funds to players lower on the professional circuit asking for more transparency.

These representatives will be in place until the end of the 2021 season and afterwards, players will sit for two-year terms, with the panel meeting at least twice a year via video conference.

To ensure a broad geographical representation, there is a limit of two players per region on both the men's and women's panels.

There is also a limit on the number of players in the highest band of the world rankings with a maximum of two male players between the world rankings of 351 and 500 in singles or doubles and 151 and 300 in the women's singles and doubles rankings.

"We are thrilled that so many players on the ITF World Tennis Tour were involved with the player panel election process," said David Haggerty, ITF President.

"As part of our ITF2024 strategy, the ITF is committed to improving our communication with athletes at all levels across the world. 

"We look forward to working with the elected members of the player panels to ensure that players' opinions are at the forefront when making decisions about the World Tennis Tour."

The men's panel will be chaired by Mark Woodforde while the women's panel will be chaired by Mary Pierce with both also sitting on the ITF Board of Directors.

A coach will also be on both panels in a non-voting role.

A spot still remains on the men's panel because no further candidates stood to be elected who met regional and ranking requirements.