Denis Yuskov broke the men's 1500m world record in Salt Lake City ©Getty Images

Russia’s Denis Yuskov broke the men’s 1500 metres world record on the second day of action at the International Skating Union Speed Skating World Cup in Salt Lake City.

Yuskov had fallen narrowly short of achieving the feat last week in Calgary, but was able to celebrate success this time around at the Utah Olympic Oval.

The World Cup leader achieve a winning time of 1min 41.02sec, just 0.02 faster than American skater Shani Davis managed at the same venue back in 2009.

“I knew I had a chance, it was do or die,” said Yuskov.

“I’m tired, because of all those weeks here.

“There was a lot of emotional pressure, because I was thinking of the world record so much.”

Dutch skater Koen Verweij lowered his national record to 1:41.63 to win silver, with team-mate Thomas Krol rounding off the podium in 1:41.95.

Yuskov leads the overall World Cup standings on 300 points after three straight wins, with Verweij second on 252.

Miho Takagi triumphed in the women’s event, as the Japanese skater achieved a time of 1:51.49 to maintain her unbeaten record this season.

Nao Kodaira maintained her winning run in the women's 500m ©Getty Images
Nao Kodaira maintained her winning run in the women's 500m ©Getty Images

She was followed by The Netherlands’ Marrit Leenstra and Russia’s Yekaterina Shikhova, who finished in 1:52.31 and 1:52.86 respectively.

Takagi is now some way clear in the World Cup standings on 400 points, with her nearest rival Leenstra trailing on 190.

Nao Kodaira won the women’s 500m for the second consecutive day, as the Japanese star achieved a time of 36.54.

The world champion left South Korea's Lee Sang-Hwa settling for silver once more, as she clocked 36.79.

Kodaira’s team-mate Arisa Go completed the top three, ending in 37.05.

Victory maintained Kodaira’s perfect record this season, with the 31-year-old topping the overall standings on 700 points to Lee’s 510.

The men’s race proved less predictable, as Russia’s Ruslan Murashov topped the podium for the first time this season by crossing the line in 34.02.

He was followed by Kai Vebij and Dai Dai Ntab of the Netherlands, who finished in 34.13 and 34.15 respectively.

Their fellow Dutchman Ronald Mulder tops the World Cup standings on 416 points, followed by Norway’s Havard Holmefjord Lorentzen on 376.

Italy's Francesca Lollobrigida broke clear to win the women's mass start ©Getty Images
Italy's Francesca Lollobrigida broke clear to win the women's mass start ©Getty Images

An impressive breakaway effort from Francesca Lollobrigida saw the Italian win the women’s mass start competition.

She finished in a winning time of 8min 53.49sec, with China’s Dan Guo coming across the line 4.05 seconds adrift to win silver.

Bronze was claimed by Bo-Reum Kim of South Korea in 9:00.72.

Lollobrigida extended her World Cup lead over Germany’s Claudia Pechstein, with the Italian now on 220 points to the German’s 152.

Men’s mass start gold was earned by South Korea’s Seung-hoon Lee in 7:58.22, with Switzerland’s Livio Wenger and Belgium’s Bart Swings rounding off the top three in 7:58.37 and 7:58.45.

Lee tops the World Cup standings on 218 points, followed by Wenger on 175.

The World Cup event concludes tomorrow.