Swiss Olympic has named its Coach of the Year award winners ©Swiss Olympic

Swiss Olympic has honoured their coaches of the year at a glittering awards ceremony in Magglingen.

At the sixth edition of the gala, prizes were awarded to Anne-Marie Howald as the Best Team Coach and Pirmin Scheuber for Best Junior Athletes and Individual Sports Coach. 

Howald represents the Swiss Federation of Rowing while Scheuber works for the Swiss Alpine Club.

The winners both received CHF 5,000 (£3,800/$5,000/€4,200) as recognition for their work. 

Winners were decided by a jury which included Peter Regli, the Swisscoach President, and Mark Wolf, the head of Swiss Training.

Anne-Marie Howald won the team coach prize ©Swiss Olympic
Anne-Marie Howald won the team coach prize ©Swiss Olympic

Also awarded on the night was the Swiss Olympic Lifetime Award to Jean-Pierre Egger.

Egger was honoured for his commitment to Swiss sport.

The five-time Swiss national shot put champion coached Werner Günthör, the Seoul 1988 Olympic shot put bronze medallist and four-time world champion across indoor and outdoor competitions.

"Jean-Pierre Egger's extensive expertise in disciplines and athletic training has characterised the Swiss sport history in the last decades," Ralph Stöckli, Switzerland's Chef de Mission for Pyeongchang 2018, said. 

"What he has contributed to the success of Swiss sport and is still contributing is impressive."