Bernhard Eisel, left, has been elected to the UCI Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Austria's Bernhard Eisel and The Netherlands' Marianne Vos have been elected as road representatives to the International Cycling Union's (UCI) Athletes’ Commission.

The pair were among six candidates seeking positions on the Commission, with one man and a woman voted for by their peers.

A total of 72 per cent of riders competing at the UCI Road World Championships here participated in the vote.

The governing body extended the initial deadline of Thursday (September 21) to the last day of the Championships yesterday, giving more riders a chance to cast their votes.

Eisel emerged as the clear winner of the men’s vote, fending off the challenge of France’s Jean-Christophe Péraud and Italy’s Davide Vigano.

The 36-year-old finished with a total of 186 votes, a 71 per cent share of the total number cast.

Péraud, a runner-up at the Tour de France in 2014, finished second with 52 votes.

Vigano received a total of 24.

Vos, the London 2012 road race champion and a three-time gold medallist in the discipline at the UCI Road World Championships, emerged as the winner of the women’s vote.

She was given a total of 108 votes in the election, representing a share of 45 per cent of the total cast.

Her compatriot Iris Slappendel and Italy’s Elena Valentini received 84 and 48 votes respectively.

Slappendel had been seeking a second term on the Commission, having been a road representative for the past four years.

Marianne Vos will serve a four-year term on the Commission ©Getty Images
Marianne Vos will serve a four-year term on the Commission ©Getty Images

Both Eisel and Vos will sit on the Commission until 2021, with the elections taking place every four years.

All elite riders participating at the UCI Road World Championships in Bergen were eligible to vote for the candidates.

To be eligible, candidates must have currently been active in the sport or have retired within the last four years before the election date.

The Czech Republic’s Katerina Nash and Simon Zahner of Switzerland were elected as cyclo-cross representatives earlier this year.

Germany’s Kristina Vogel and Kenny De Ketele of Belgium were then chosen for track cycling, while the BMX representatives were Laura Smulders of The Netherlands and Britain's Liam Phillips.

Poland's Maja Wloszczowska, Switzerland's Lukas Flückiger, France's Myriam Nicole and Greg Minnaar of South Africa were elected as mountain bike representatives earlier this month.

This election took place at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Cairns, with two cyclists chosen to represent the cross-country discipline and two for downhill.

Dame Sarah Storey of Britain and Ireland's Colin Lynch were elected to be Para-cycling representatives.

The Commission are tasked with presenting the UCI Management Committee with a range of considerations in order to improve the role of athletes in all disciplines and to promote the respect and rights of athletes across all forms of cycling and in all disciplines.

It is also hoped they will work to promote ethics and all fair play rules, provide a direct link with the Management Committee for major events, inform athletes of professional training available to them during and after their sporting careers and act as ambassadors and role models.

The President of the Athletes' Commission is co-opted onto the UCI Management Committee.