Argentina, Colombia and Uruguay will co-host the FIBA AmeriCup 2017 ©FIBA

International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Americas has announced that Argentina, Colombia and Uruguay will jointly host the FIBA AmeriCup 2017.

The tournament, scheduled to be played from August 25 to September 3, will open with a group stage consisting of three groups of four.

Group stage matches will take place in Medellín in Colombia, Bahía Blanca in Argentina and the Uruguayan capital of Montevideo.

The winners of each group will advance to the semi-finals, along with Argentina, automatic qualifiers because of its status as the "main organiser" of the competition.

The semi-finals and final are all due to be played in Cordoba in Argentina.

Joining the host countries in competing in the continental cup will be Canada, Dominican Republic, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, the United States, Venezuela, the Virgin Islands and another South American representative yet to be determined.

Brazil had qualified as one of South America's representatives but were suspended by FIBA in November.

Brazil's non-participation in international competitions, including continental youth events and the 3×3 Senior World Championships, were among the reasons for the suspension.

Failure to organise a 3x3 World Tour event in Rio de Janeiro, as well as the cancellation of national level and important national youth tournaments, were other key factors in FIBA's decision.

Brazil had qualified for the tournament but have since been suspended by FIBA ©FIBA
Brazil had qualified for the tournament but have since been suspended by FIBA ©FIBA

A "lack of full control of basketball in the country", with third parties deemed to have intervened in the selection and funding of national team activities, and outstanding payments to FIBA are among other concerns which led to the governing body taking action.

A decision on the fifth South American representative will be taken by the FIBA Central Board and announced at a later date. 

The group stage draw will be held on April 20 in the Argentinian capital of Buenos Aires. 

"The FIBA AmeriCup 2017 represents a new era in our continental basketball," said FIBA Americas President Usie Richards.

"The best national teams from our continent will compete for the pride of proclaiming themselves the undisputed champion of the Americas.

"We are very pleased to be able to announce Argentina, Colombia and Uruguay as the hosts of the competition in an unprecedented gathering for our sport in the continent. 

"We are confident that it will be a sporting spectacle and a delight for basketball fans."