Double world champion Javier Fernandez takes his place in the men's competition ©Getty Images

The line-up for the International Skating Union (ISU) Grand Prix of Figure Skating Final in Marseille has been confirmed after the end of the regulation series.

The top six in the rankings in the men's, women's, pairs and ice dance categories have all earned their place in the French city, with action taking place between December 8 and 11.

In the men's competition, Spain's two-time world champion Javier Fernandez and Canada's Patrick Chan top the standings.

Both won two Grand Prix events, with Fernandez claiming the Rostelecom Cup in Moscow and the Trophée de France in Paris.

Chan won his home Skate Canada event and also clinched gold at the Audi Cup of China.

Japan's Olympic champion and defending Grand Prix final winner Yuzuru Hanyu will also take part in Marseille after his victory at the NHK Trophy in Sapporo, while his compatriot Shoma Uno also qualified thanks to his win at Skate America.

Americans Nathan Chen and Adam Rippon will both make their Grand Prix Final debuts in Marseille to complete the field.

In the women's event, Russia's world and Grand Prix Final champion Evgenia Medvedeva qualified with two victories at Skate Canada and the Trophée de France.

Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford will contest the pairs event ©Getty Images
Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford will contest the pairs event ©Getty Images

Another Russian in Anna Pogorilaya also won two events - at the Rostelecom Cup and NHK Trophy - while her team-mate Elena Radionova's Cup of China success has also seen her progress.

A fourth Russian in Maria Sotskova will also compete, with Satoko Miyahara of Japan and Kaetlyn Osmond of Canada completing the line-up.

World pairs champions Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford of Canada and world bronze medallists Aliona Savchenko and Bruno Massot of Germany earned their places in Marseille with a pair of tournament victories apiece.

The Canadians won their home Skate Canada competition and the NHK Trophy, with the Germans triumphant in Moscow and Paris.

Xiaoyu Yu Hao Zhang of China are also in the field after winning the Cup of China in Beijing.

Their compatriots Cheng Peng and Yang Jin are also qualifiers, with Canadians Julianne Seguin and Charlie Bilodeau and Russians Evgenia Tarasova and Vladimir Morozov completing the line-up.

Canada's 2010 Olympic ice dance champions Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir won at Skate Canada and the NHK Trophy to progress after taking two seasons off.

American brother and sister duo Maia and Alex Shibutani qualified after their success at Skate America, with France's reigning world champions Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron progressing after their win on home ice in Paris.

Russians Ekaterina Bobrova and Dmitri Soloviev also won their home event in Moscow to book their place, with American pairs Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue and Madison Chock and Evan Bates doing enough to earn their spots.