Virat Kohli was in sensational form for India ©Getty Images

Virat Kohli was in phenomenal form as hosts India booked their place in the semi-finals of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 at the expense of Australia today.

The Group 2 clash in Mohali was a straight shoot-out for a place in the last four, with the winners joining West Indies in progressing.

Australia, who posted 160-6 after winning the toss and electing to bat, had looked like winning for large parts of the game but Kohli took the contest away from them as India got home by six wickets.

The number three blasted 82 from 51 deliveries, including nine fours and two sixes, in front of a jubilant home crowd.

India will now play Group 1 winners West Indies in the semi-finals in Mumbai on March 31, as they bid to reclaim the title they won back in 2007.

Their opponents, who had already sealed their passage through after winning their first three games, will go into the last four contest on the back of the shock result of the tournament so far after a six run defeat to minnows Afghanistan.

Afghanistan celebrate their famous victory over West Indies
Afghanistan celebrate their famous victory over West Indies ©Getty Images

The West Indies elected to field and Afghanistan were restricted to a modest 123-7 in Nagpur.

Their bowling, though, was outstanding and the group winners were restricted to just 117-8 to provide the Afghans with the biggest victory in the country's history.

The first semi-final will see England play New Zealand in Delhi on March 30.

In the women's competition, England went through as Group B winners with a 100 per cent record after beating Pakistan by 68 runs.

Their 148-5, including 77 from Charlotte Edwards, was far too much for a Pakistan side who were bowled out for 80 in Chennai.

West Indies have joined the English in the semi-finals after beating India by three runs in Mohali.

They managed 114-8 and then restricted the home side to 111-9.

England will meet Australia in the last four in New Delhi, on March 30, while New Zealand will play West Indies in Mumbai on March 31.