By James Crook

159342437 1March 27 - World number one Lee Chong-Wei of Malaysia will be up against his arch-rival, two-time Olympic champion Lin Dan of China, for the Badminton World Federation (BWF) Male Player of the Year Award.

Also nominated for the Male Player of the Year Award are Lin's compatriots, London 2012 bronze medallist and BWF World Superseries Finals winner Chen Long and reigning Olympic doubles champions Cai Yun and Fu Haifeng, and Korean pair Lee Yong Dae and the now retired Jung Jae Sung, who won bronze in the men's doubles at London 2012.

In the Female Player of the Year category, Chinese world number one Li Xuerui should be a shoe-in for the crown after claiming eight titles last season, including Olympic gold in the women's singles, as well as wins at the All England Championships in Birmingham and the Superseries Masters Finals.

158359099China's Li Xuerui will be the favourite for the Female BWF World Player of the Year award after taking 8 titles last season, including Olympic gold in London

Her compatriots, Olympic silver medalist Wang Yihan and Olympic women's doubles winners Tian Qing and Zhao Yunlei are also nominated for the award, alongside women's singles bronze medalist at London 2012, Saina Nehwal of India.

Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei, Viktor Axelsen of Denmark, and Japanese Junior World Champion Kento Momota are in contention for the Most Promising Player men's award, with Ratchanok Intanon and Busnan Ongbumrungpan of Thailand and Nozomi Okuhara in the running for the women's award.

Winners of the awards are due be decided at the discretion of the BWF Council, and will be announced following the annual BWF annual general meeting at a gala dinner in Kuala Lumpur on Saturday May 18.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]