By James Crook

89262235February 6 - National champion Jarrod Shoemaker and London 2012 Olympian Sarah Groff have been named as the USA Triathlon Elite Athletes of the Year for 2012.

Eligible athletes were nominated by their fellow elite competitors with the award selections being made by the USA Triathlon Athlete Advisory Council (AAC)

Shoemaker won his second USA Triathlon Elite National Championships title in Buffalo, New York, in September last year, and also finished as the top-ranked US male in the 2012 International Triathlo Union (ITU) World Triathlon Series rankings.

Groff finished fourth in the triathlon at the London 2012 Olympic Games and became the first American with multiple career World Triathlon Series (WTS) podium finishes.

152071660London 2012 Olympian Sarah Groff has won the USA Triathlon Elite Athlete of the Year

"Twenty Twelve was truly a remarkable year in triathlon." said Barrett Brandon, chair of the USA Triathlon AAC.

"With outstanding performances across all distances, picking the winners from our incredible list of nominees was a difficult task,"

"The AAC carefully examined the résumés and results and is proud to honour these exceptional athletes. The AAC congratulates all the 2012 winners."

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
January 2013: Kajlich and Walsh win USA Paratriathletes of the Year