By Tom Degun

Scott DerwinAugust 26 - Sports administrator Scott Derwin has taken up the role of chairman at Basketball Australia, where he previously served as chief executive.

It marks a major shake-up at Basketball Australia following the recent appointment of Kristina Keneally as the new chief executive, while Derwin (pictured above) takes over the top position from acting chairman Justin Milne.

"Scott has served as the chief executive of three major national sporting bodies over the last 17 years," said Milne.

"In each of those roles, he has driven structural change at both governance and management levels.

"Scott's previous work with Basketball Australia speaks for itself – he was instrumental in getting us back to a position of financial strength, and largely drove our merger with the National Basketball League, the Women's National Basketball League and the Australian Basketball Association.

"Scott has also had extensive experience as both chairman and a member of various not for profit boards.

"The experience he brings from his time spent with the Australian Paralympic Committee in the lead-up to the 2000 Sydney Paralympic Games and Surf Life Saving Australia is invaluable to our organisation."

Derwin himself admitted he was delighted to take up the position.

"I'm honoured that the Board has entrusted me with the position of chair and pleased to continue to work with Basketball Australia in such a hands-on role," he said.

"Our international recognition lets us stand proud on a world stage, and at home in Australia, we've got a million people playing basketball.

"That's no small feat – but I know we can continue to grow."

Derwin takes up the role after a successful London 2012 Olympic basketball competition for Australia where the women claimed the bronze medal and the men finished in a respectable seventh place.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
June 2012: Basketball Australia names former NSW Premier Keneally as new head
December 2011: Former New South Wales Premier appointed chair of Basketball Australia