By Tom Degun at the Main Press Centre on the Olympic Park in London

Frank Fredericks_and_his_successor_Claudia_Boke_10-08-12August 10 - The four new members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Athletes' Commission are set to be unveiled in the next 48 hours after a delay to the scheduled announcement was caused by a "procedural matter".

The elections have been taking place at the London 2012 Athletes' Village since July 16 with all the athletes participating at the Olympics eligible to vote for four of the 21 candidates running for election to the Commission.

The voting stopped on Wednesday (August 8) with the announcement of the four successful candidates scheduled to take place at the Olympic Village yesterday.

But the press conference announcement was cancelled by Anita DeFrantz, the chair of the IOC Athletes' Commission Election Committee, who said the announcement would be delayed.

There was no information given as to when the athletes would be announced but IOC communications director Mark Adams has today revealed that it will be in the next two days.

"We called a temporary delay as it were," he said at a press conference here.

"The actual voting went ahead according to plan but there is a temporary delay while we deal with what we would call a procedural matter.

"That is being dealt with at the moment and we will have the result hopefully today, if not today tomorrow, but we felt it was best to get the right result and just wait a day."

Adam Pengilly_10-08-12Britain's Adam Pengilly is now the vice-chairman of the Athletes' Commission having been elected to the IOC at Vancouver in 2010

The four elected athletes will become full IOC members for an eight-year term where they will replace current members Namibia's Frankie Fredericks (pictured top, right), Moroccan Hicham El Guerrouj, Egypt's Rania Elwani, and Jan Železný of the Czech Republic, who are all finishing their terms of office.

Each voter has been asked to select four candidates from four different sports to ensure a varied representation from the Olympic sports programme.

The Commission itself is composed of 12 athletes – featuring eight Summer Olympians and four Winter Olympians – who are elected for eight years by their peers.

The Commission serves as a consultative body and is the link between active athletes and the IOC with Germany's Claudia Bokel (pictured top, left), a former fencer, elected chair of the Commission before the start of the Olympics.

She replaces the outgoing Fredericks and joins the IOC Executive Board by virtue of the position, which she officially takes up at the end of the Olympics.

Meanwhile, Britain's Adam Pengilly, a former skeleton athlete who competed at the Turin 2006 and Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Games, was elected new vice-chair, succeeding Bokel in that role.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
July 2012: Bokel elected new chair of the IOC Athletes' Commission