By Tom Degun

trinity house_19-03-12March 19 - Luxurious Trinity House in Tower Hill has been chosen to be Austria House for the London 2012 Games, it has been announced.

Austria House will be a base for the country's athletes that will feature medal celebrations, major media conferences, television studios, a VIP and sponsors area and a special athlete's leisure zone.

The Tyrolean Tourism Board will also run a public area in order to attract both locals and tourists.

The announcement came following a recent visit to Trinity House by the Austrian Olympic Committee (ÖOC) President Karl Stoss and Secretary General Peter Mennel.

The visit saw the pair attend a dinner at the Austrian Embassy, embark on a tour of the Olympic Park in Stratford, hold a discussion with London 2012 chief executive Paul Deighton and hold a press conference at Trinity House.

"We are happy having found an agreement with the Trinity House," Stoss said.

"The location is very central and historic – and with 1.650 square metres for our use we have lots of space – it's indeed an ideal spot."

Austria's standing in the Olympic Movement has dramatically increased after the country successfully staged the inaugural Winter Youth Olympic Games in Innsbruck in January and it means that Austria House will be one of the most popular destinations during the Games.

Trinity House is the official General Lighthouse Authority for England, Wales and other British territorial waters (with the exception of Scotland, the Isle of Man and Northern Ireland).

It is responsible for the provision and maintenance of navigational aids such as lighthouses, light vessels, buoys and maritime radio/satellite communication systems.

trinity house_19-03-121
It was designed by Samuel Wyatt and built back in 1796 while it has a unique suite of elegant rooms in a location overlooking Trinity Square and The Tower of London.

Trinity House originated as a Guild of Pilots in Deptford in the 14th century, operating Lighthouses from 1566.

It moved to Tower Hill in 1796 and the present house was rebuilt in 1953.

Trinity House has five rooms in a versatile town house environment, while shipwrights models, Royal paintings and unique carpet along with The Bell from the Royal Yacht Britannia assure a Maritime atmosphere.

The House often hosts luncheons, dinner parties, board meetings, training courses and cocktail receptions for up to 120 guests.

The rooms are south facing ensuring lots of natural daylight while the entrance is 70 metres from Tower Hill tube station.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
March 2012: Irish House for London 2012 to be at King's Cross
January 2012: Kenya planning to spend $5 million marketing itself during London 2012
January 2012: Exclusive - Team USA to be based at Royal College of Art during London 2012
January 2012: Royal setting for Team Russia Park at London 2012
January 2012:
Pride House to open during London 2012 at Clapham Common