Orlando_Silva_and_Ricardo_TeixeiraFebruary 22 - Rio de Janeiro will share the 2016 Olympic football tournament with five other cities, it was announced today by the CBF.

Sao Paulo, Brasilia, Belo Horizonte and Salvador have been chosen to share the matches with Rio, spreading the tournament across Brazil.

The names of the specific sites have not been announced, but they are expected to be the same as those awarded FIFA World Cup matches in 2014, it was announced during a seminar for host cities in Brasilia attended by Brazil's Sports Orlando Silva and CBP President Ricardo Teixeira.

This means that Sao Paulo's Itaquerao stadium, Belo Horizonte's Mineirao, the Fonte Nova in Salvador and the Mane Garrincha in Brasilia will all play host to games in the early stages of the men and women's tournament, as well as the Maracana in Rio de Janeiro.

The famous stadium, which is currently being rebuilt for the World Cup and the Olympics, will also be the site for the finals of both competitions, as well as hosting the Opening and Closing Ceremonies.