Brazil beat Europe to host the 2027 Women's World Cup. CBF/X

Brazil will host the 2027 FIFA Women's World Cup after outbidding a joint European bid from Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands, world football's governing body announced at the 74th FIFA Congress in Bangkok, Thailand.

Although the odds favoured the South American giants after they scored higher in FIFA's technical evaluation report, it was not easy to beat Europe in the bidding process.

Three powerhouses in terms of GDP per capita, well ahead of a financial crisis-hit Brazil, could have tipped the balance in favour of the safer choice of Europe over South America. However, that was not to be, and Brazil will host the FIFA World Cup for the second time in 13 years, following the 2014 edition in which Germany lifted the trophy after defeating Argentina 1-0 at the legendary Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro.

The joint bid by the United States and Mexico was withdrawn at the end of April, and South Africa did the same in November, leaving a showdown between South America and Europe forthe honour of succeeding Australia and New Zealand in 2023.

This is the first time in history that all 211 FIFA member associations have had the opportunity to vote on the host of the Women's World Cup. Previously, the decision was made exclusively by the FIFA Council. Of these, 207 voted electronically.

The delegates at the Congress in Bangkok voted 119 to 78 in favour of Brazil's bid, to the jubilation of the Brazilian delegation.

Germany hosted the Women's World Cup in 2011 and the Women's Euro in 2017, in addition to the Men's World Cup in 2006 and this year's Euro in Germany.

In addition to the appointment of Brazil as the host of the 2027 World Cup, the FIFA Congress in Thailand will also discuss a number of other topics, including the fight against racism (Gianni Infantino himself made a public statement against racism), investments for the development of football totalling 2.25 billion dollars (2023-2026 cycle), the international women's calendar 2026-2029 with the inclusion of the first Women's Club World Cup, among others.

Brazil has thus secured the first Women's World Cup in South American history. To date, there have been 2 in Asia (China), 3 in North America (2 in the United States and 1 in Canada), 3 in Europe (Sweden, Germany and France) and the last one in Oceania (Australia-New Zealand).

The United States have won the most championships with 4 (1991, 1999, 2015 and 2019), followed by Germany with 2 (2003 and 2007), while Norway (1995), Japan (2011) andthe most recent Spain (2023) complete the podium with one title each.