Carlos Serrano won the men's overall title at the Para Swimming World Series ©Getty Images

Colombian Carlos Serrano and Germany's Tanja Scholz have taken the individual crowns in the Para Swimming World Series season at the final event in Tijuana in Mexico.

Colombian athletes dominated the Series as the country also topped the rankings in the overall team category.

Double Paralympic champion Serrano won his country's first World Series title with 4,115 points to top the male category.

Dutchman Rogier Dorsman took second place with 3,976 to pip another Colombian, Nelson Crispin, to the silver medal.

Crispin ended the campaign on 3,974 points.

In the women's category, Scholz's 4,006 points prevented a Colombian one-two finish as Sara Vargas and Maria Paula Barrero amassed 3,915 and 3,792 points, respectively.

It was Germany's second triumph in the World Series following Elena Krazow's win in the 2021 edition.

Chile's Alberto Abarza and Mexico's Fabiola Martinez successfully defended their respective titles in the men's and women's high support needs categories.

Martinez, the 2021 winner, scored 2,254 points in Tijuana and Lignano Sabbiadoro in Italy.

Abarza took 3,661 points in the Berlin and Indianapolis events.

The Chilean has topped the World Series in his discipline in every single edition since the first in 2017.

The 2023 World Series season is due to begin in Melbourne, Australia from February 17 to 19.