Germany won the women's team pursuit in Glasgow ©Getty Images

Germany overcame hosts Britain in a repeat of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic final to win women's team pursuit gold at the International Cycling Union (UCI) Track Cycling Nations Cup in Glasgow.

Germany posted the fastest times in qualification and the first round at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, as they did on route to winning Olympic gold last year.

Their team of Franziska Brausse, Lisa Klein, Mieke Kroger and Laura Sussemilch proved too strong again for their British rivals, claiming gold in a time of 4min 13.421sec.

Britain’s Katie Archibald, Laura Kenny, Neah Evans and Josie Knight finished over five seconds off the pace, ending as the runners-up in 4:18.908.

Italy finished as the bronze medallists with Elisa Balsamo, Rachele Barbieri, Martina Alzini and Vittoria Guazzini triumphing in their ride off against France.

The quartet achieved a time of 4:14.423 to win bronze, with France’s Marion Borras, Clara Copponi, Valentine Fortin and Jade Labastugue finishing in 4:16.912.

Britain also finished as the runners-up in the men’s team pursuit competition, with France celebrating victory.

France’s Benjamin Thomas, Thomas Denis, Corentin Ermenault and Eddy le Huitouze led throughout the gold medal ride, before crossing the line in a winning time of 3:50.267.

Ethan Vernon, Oliver Wood, Rhys Britton and Charlie Tanfield finished over a second behind, ending the final in 3:51.638.

The podium was completed by Denmark’s Tobias Hansen, Rasmus Pedersen, Carl-Frederik Bevort and Robin Skivild in 3:50.986, ending six seconds clear of Olympic champions Italy in the bronze medal race.

There was Dutch success in the women’s team sprint event, with Kyra Lamberink, Hetty van der Wouw and Steffie van der Peet topping the podium.

The trio triumphed in the final in a time of 47.461 seconds.

Canada’s Lauriane Genest, Kelsey Mitchell and Sarah Orban were left settling for second place in 47.820.

Wales' Rhian Edmunds, Emma Finucane and Lowri Thomas won the bronze medal ride in a time of 47.813, with Britain’s Lauren Bate, Sophie Capewell and Milly Tanner fourth in 48.015.

The men’s team sprint final was won by Australia’s Thomas Cornish, Leigh Hoffman and Matthew Richardson in 42.532.

France’s Florian Grengbo, Rayan Helal and Sebastien Vigier were runners-up in 42.673.

The Netherlands' Harrie Lavreysen, Roy van den Berg and Tijmen van Loon clocked 43.343 to win the bronze medal contest, as Poland’s Maciej Bielecki, Daniel Rochna and Rafal Sarnecki ended fourth in 44.558.

Three further days of competition will take place in Glasgow at the opening event of the season.

It is the second edition of the UCI Track Cycling Nations Cup series after launching last year.

The Glasgow event is the first of three legs, with Milton in Canada and Cali in Colombia due to hold the other competitions.