Viktor Axelsen earned his second All England Open Badminton Championships title ©Getty Images

Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen won the men’s singles title at the All England Open Badminton Championships for the second time in his career, after beating India’s Lakshya Sen in Birmingham.

The Danish star had won all his matches in straight games to advance to the final at the Utilita Arena.

Axelsen continued the run with a dominant performance in the final, securing a 21-10, 21-15 win over Sen.

The world number one added to his 2020 triumph at the Badminton World Federation Super 1000 event, while he was also the runner-up last year.

The women’s singles event saw Japan’s Akane Yamaguchi and South Korea’s An Se-young continue their rivalry.

Yamaguchi beat An in the final of the Denmark Open last year, before the South Korean avenged the loss to win the Indonesia Masters.

Yamaguchi had also beaten her rival at the French Open, World Championships and BWF World Tour Finals last year.

The latest meeting also went Yamaguchi’s way, with the second seed winning her first All England title.

Yamaguchi earned a straight games 21-15, 21-15 win to take the title.

Yuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino defended their mixed doubles title, after the Japanese duo won a tight contest against China’s Wang Yi Lyu and Huang Dong Ping.

Akane Yamaguchi claimed the women's singles title in Birmingham ©Getty Images
Akane Yamaguchi claimed the women's singles title in Birmingham ©Getty Images

Wang and Huang had triumphed when the pairings met in the semi-final stage at Tokyo 2020, on route to earning the Olympic title.

A form of revenge was earned by Watanabe and Higashino in Birmingham, as they recorded a 21-19, 21-19 victory in the final.

Japanese players came away with three titles at the All England Championships, as Nami Matsuyama and Chiharu were crowned women’s doubles champions.

Matsuyama and Chiharu produced a dominant performance to beat China’s Zhang Shu Xian and Zheng Yu 21-13, 21-9.

Muhammad Shoibul Fikri and Bagas Maulana were the winners of an all-Indonesian men’s doubles final.

The pairing recorded a 21-19, 21-13 win over second seeds Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan, who had won the title in 2014 and 2019.