He Bing Jiao beat Sakaya Takahashi to help China win the Uber Cup ©Getty Images

China won the Uber Cup after coming from behind to beat holders Japan 3-1 in the final in Aarhus, Denmark.

China, looking to improve on their bronze medal from the previous edition in Bangkok, Thailand, in 2018, lost the opening women's singles match of the tie when Akane Yamaguchi overcame Chen Yu Fei 21-18, 21-10.

The second women's doubles tie proved an epic encounter with Chen Qing Chen and Jia Yi Fan prevailing for China 29-27, 15-21, 21-18 against Yuki Fukushima and Mayu Matsumoto in a contest that lasted just under two hours.

China took the lead after winning the second women's singles match of the tie as He Bing Jiao beat Sayaka Takahashi 21-9, 21-18.

Victory was secured for China in match four with Huang Dong Ping and Li Wen Mei beating Misaki Matsutomo and Nami Matsuyama in two tight games 24-22, 23-21. 

Jonatan Christie won an absorbing encounter 25-23, 15-21, 21-16 over Anders Antonsen to set the stage for an Indonesian triumph over hosts Denmark in the semi-finals of the Thomas Cup earlier in the day in Aarhus.

Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto then closed out the tie with a 21-14, 21-14 doubles triumph against Frederik Søgaard and Mathias Christiansen to ensure Indonesia's place in the final.

The first two matches offered no surprises.

Olympic champion Viktor Axelsen comprehensively defeated Anthony Sinisuka Ginting 21-9, 21-15, while Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo put Indonesia ahead by beating Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen 21-13, 10-21, 21-15.

China will meet Indonesia in the final for the first time since 2010 after downing Japan 3-1.

Kento Momota won a highly anticipated opening match against Shi Yu Qi after the Chinese shuttler retired due to injury.

However, after He Ji Ting and Zhou Hao Dong beat Takuro Hoki and Yuta Watanabe 21-17, 7-21, 21-16 in the first doubles fixture it was plain sailing for China.

Li Shi Feng beat Kanta Tsuneyama 21-17, 21-15 before Liu Cheng and Wang Yi Lyu delivered the final blow against Akira Koga and Taichi Saito with an impressive 21-11, 22-20 win.

Indonesia and China have recorded the most Thomas Cup titles since its inception in 1949 with 13 and 10, respectively.