Almaty is set to host the 2021 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships for a second time ©WCF

The World Curling Federation (WCF) has confirmed Almaty in Kazakhstan as the host of the 2021 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships.

Kazakhstan's largest city, located in the southern mountainous area of the nation, is to hold the competition for the second time, after first hosting the Championships in 2015.

Scheduled to be held from November 6 to 13 at the Almaty Arena, the event is a qualification tournament for the 2022 World Curling Championships.

It returns after two years - having last been held in 2019 in Shenzhen in China - after the 2020 Championships were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Almaty Arena was considered as a venue for the city's bid for the 2022 Winter Olympics before Beijing won hosting rights.

The venue also hosted curling at the 2017 Winter Universiade and seats 533 people, with room for up to 180 athletes to compete.

South Korea and China are the defending Pacific-Asia Curling Championships gold medallists ©Getty Images
South Korea and China are the defending Pacific-Asia Curling Championships gold medallists ©Getty Images

"I'm pleased to see the Pacific-Asia Curling Championships return to scenic Almaty in Kazakhstan," said WCF President Kate Caithness.

"The host committee produced a first-class event in 2015 and I'm sure they'll rise to the occasion once more.

"Our Pacific-Asia zone continues to see fantastic growth and development following the 2018 Olympics and Paralympics in Pyeongchang. 

"With the build-up to Beijing 2022 fully underway, this is an exciting time for the curling family."

Gold and silver medal winners are to earn places at the 2022 World Women's Curling Championship in Prince George in Canada, while the third and fourth placed teams will have another opportunity to make the Championships through the 2022 World Qualification Event.

Only the gold medallists are guaranteed a spot at the 2022 World Men's Curling Championship, meaning silver and bronze medallists will be given entry to the World Qualification Event.

South Korea and China are the defending champions in the men's and women's competition.