Spain will hope to earn a third consecutive Women's EuroBasket title ©Getty Images

Spain will target a third consecutive International Basketball Federation (FIBA) Women’s EuroBasket title when the 16-team tournament begins tomorrow.

The tournament co-hosts will be based in Valencia for the group stage of the competition, where they will face Belarus, Slovakia and Sweden in Group A.

The world number three ranked side will begin their campaign against Belarus at the Pavelló Municipal Font de Sant Lluís.

Spain will look to top Group A to secure direct passage through to the quarter-finals, while the second and third placed teams would require an extra match to earn a spot in the last eight.

Group B will also take place in Valencia, with world number eight ranked Serbia expected to lead the way.

The 2015 winners will hope to improve on the last edition of the tournament, where they suffered defeat to Spain in the semi-finals two years ago.

Serbia will face neighbours Montenegro, with Greece and Italy also competing in Group B.

Co-hosts France are based in Strasbourg, with the 2019 runners-up headlining Group D.

France, winners of Women’s EuroBasket in 2001 and 2009, are set to start their campaign against Croatia at the Rhénus Sport venue.

Three-time winners Russia and 2005 champions Czech Republic complete the Group D line-up.

None of the teams in Group C have lifted the trophy to date, with Turkey having gone closest by finishing as runners-up in 2011.

Belgium and Turkey will expect to go head-to-head to secure top spot in the group, with the teams ranked sixth and seventh in the world respectively.

Bosnia and Herzegovina and Slovenia complete the Group C line-up.

Competition will take place in Valencia and Strasbourg until the quarter-finals, with the former serving as the host of the semi-finals and final, scheduled to take place on June 27.

The top six teams at the tournament will qualify for the 2022 FIBA Women’s World Cup in Australia.

Women’s EuroBasket could also provide a key build-up event for Belgium, France, Spain and Serbia, who will be the continents representatives in the women’s Olympic basketball tournament at Tokyo 2020.