Sri Lanka legend Kumar Sangakkara is one of 10 new inductees to the ICC Hall of Fame ©Getty Images

Kumar Sangakkara, the first overseas cricketer to become President of the prestigious Marylebone Cricket Club, is one of 10 inducted into the International Cricket Council (ICC) Hall of Fame to celebrate the inaugural World Test Championship final which begins on Friday (June 18) in Southampton.

They were chosen to reflect all eras of Test cricket and include Lord Learie Constantine, a West Indian star and distinguished human rights campaigner.

All "made a significant contribution to the history of Test cricket, and join an illustrious list of ICC Hall of Famers," according to cricket's world governing body.

The youngest nominee, Sangakkara was chosen alongside former Zimbabwe batsman Andy Flower to represent the "modern era" from 1996 to 2016.

Sangakkara played the last of 134 Test matches for Sri Lanka in 2015.

He is Sri Lanka’s record run-scorer with 12,400 including 38 centuries and a monumental 319.

His stand of 624 with Mahela Jayawardene in 2006 against South Africa remains the highest for any Test wicket.

"I hated fielding, I loved batting," Sangakkara told an online ceremony.

"That would be the best way to describe it.

"When I played Test cricket, even though it was not too long ago when I started, it was a lot about patience, batting long, grinding the opposition down and making bowlers bowl long spells."

Andy Flower had made his debut in Zimbabwe’s inaugural Test match in 1992, but his finest moment came in a stand of 269 with brother Grant against Pakistan to set up Zimbabwe’s first Test victory in 1995.

"We’d been playing international cricket for three years and this monkey on our back that’s certainly how I felt, it was really significant to dislodge it," Flower commented. 

"We were always struggling to justify our status in the international game and this was a stepping stone towards doing that."

Flower’s international career ended after his black armband worn in protest against President Robert Mugabe’s regime during the 2003 ICC World Cup, but he subsequently enjoyed a successful career as a coach.

South Africa’s Aubrey Faulkner was another who turned to coaching after a successful on-field career. 

Faulkner scored a century in the opening match of the 1912 Triangular Series, a forerunner of the ICC World Test Championship.

The ICC citation said: "He was one of the greatest all-rounders and part of the famous 'googly quartet' that so characterised South African cricket in the first decade of the 20th century."

Faulkner won the Distinguished Service Cross in the First World War, but suffered depression and took his own life in 1930.

Monty Noble, the other representative from the "early cricket era", was an all-rounder who led Australia to Ashes victory 1907-1908 and 1909.

Batsman Stan McCabe was emblematic of Australia’s superiority in the "inter-war" years.

Highly regarded by contemporary Sir Don Bradman, McCabe struck a courageous 187 in the first Test of the controversial "Bodyline" series in 1932. 

Andy Flower's international playing career was effectively ended by a political protest ©Getty Images
Andy Flower's international playing career was effectively ended by a political protest ©Getty Images

He remained in the side for the rest of the decade and struck a rapid and memorable 232 in 1938.

Lord Constantine played in the West Indies' first Test match in 1928 and throughout the 1930s.

During the Second World War, he experienced discrimination at a London hotel, prompting a famous legal action.

Later, he became High Commissioner for Trinidad and settled in Britain. 

"He was a champion not only amongst players but for his people too, in their political and legal fight against racial discrimination," read the ICC citation.

India’s Vinoo Mankad, chosen to represent the "post-war era", was considered one of India’s greatest all-rounders. 

Mankad hit 184 and took five wickets at Lord’s for a struggling team in 1952. 

He also entered cricket lore after running out a non-striking batsman for "backing up", and the manoeuvre is now known as "Mankading".

At 86, Ted Dexter is the oldest inductee. 

Although never ennobled, he is universally known as "Lord Ted". 

Dexter's mercurial 70 against the West Indies in 1963 is still talked about. 

He stood for Parliament, flew to Australia by private plane and later became England’s chairman of selectors.

Desmond Haynes forged a opening partnership with Gordon Greenidge and played 116 Tests in the 1980s, dominated by his West Indies.

"He was capable of some destructive innings and combined impeccable timing with power in his stroke making", summised the ICC.

The late Bob Willis encountered Haynes at his best.

Called up as an emergency replacement fast bowler for England in 1971, he took 325 wickets and captained his country but is best remembered for a devastating 8 for 43 against Australia at Headingley to seal a memorable victory in 1981.

Wisden Cricketers' Almanack editor Lawrence Booth joined the induction ceremony online to describe Willis as "a man possessed" that day.

Willis and Haynes were "ODI era" inductees.

There are now 103 members of the ICC Hall of Fame.