Costa Rica have won the last two editions of the CONCACAF Futsal Championship ©Getty Images

Transcontinental bragging rights and four berths at the FIFA Futsal World Cup will be on offer at the Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) Futsal Championship, which begins in Guatemala City tomorrow.

Thirteen men's teams are set to compete in four groups - three containing three teams and one a four-country group - after French Guiana, Martinique and Guadeloupe all withdrew from the competition.

Every game is due to be played at the Domo Polideportivo in the Guatemalan capital, which hosted the final of the 2000 Futsal World Cup.

The host nation - CONCACAF futsal champions in 2008 - are in Group A along with Trinidad and Tobago and debutants the Dominican Republic.

Panama - runners-up at the last edition of this event - Mexico and Suriname make up Group B.

Back-to-back defending champions Costa Risa, Mexico and Canada are in Group C.

All games will be played at the Domo Polideportivo ©Getty Images
All games will be played at the Domo Polideportivo ©Getty Images

Cuba, El Salvador, Nicaragua and the United States are in the last round-robin group.

Two teams will advance from each to the quarter-finals, which will be played on Friday (May 7).

The semi-finals are scheduled to take place the following day and the final the day after that, May 11.

All four semi-finalists will qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup, due to be played in Lithuania in September and October.