Slalom world champion Sebastian Foss-Solevåg features in the team ©Getty Images

World champion Sebastian Foss-Solevåg is among the skiers selected by the Norwegian Ski Federation on their alpine team for next season as the organisation prepares for the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympic Games.

Foss-Solevåg earned his maiden individual world title in February when he triumphed in the men’s slalom competition at the Alpine World Ski Championships in Cortina.

He had earlier earned gold as Norway won the team parallel event.

Henrik Kristoffersen, a bronze medallist behind Foss-Solevåg in the men’s slalom, has also been included in Norway’s men’s A-list for the upcoming season.

The list includes Aleksander Aamodt Kilde, whose defence of his overall Alpine World Cup title ended when he ruptured an anterior cruciate ligament in January.

The men’s A-list is completed by Leif Kristian Nestvold Haugen, Kjetil Jansrud, Adrian Smiseth Sejersted and Lucas Braathen.

Henrik Røa, Rasmus Windingstad, Timon Haugan, Fabian Wilkens Solheim and Atle Lie Mcgrath have been given B-list status for the season, with Alexander Steen Olsen, Halvor Hilde Gunleiksrud, Kaspar Kindem, Oscar Zimmer and Andreas Sønsterud Amdahl on the C-list.

Aleksander Aamodt Kilde, who is recovering from injury, features in the men's A-list ©Getty Images
Aleksander Aamodt Kilde, who is recovering from injury, features in the men's A-list ©Getty Images

The men’s team selection was made by Steve Skavik, Andreas Kollenborg and Claus Johan Ryste, whose decisions were approved by the Norwegian Ski Federation’s Alpine Committee.

The women’s national team was selected by Tim Gfeller, Erik Skaslien and Claus Johan Ryste, with three skiers earning A-list status.

The list includes Ragnhild Mowinckel, who won silver medals in the downhill and giant slalom competitions at the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics.

Kristin Lysdahl and Kajsa Vickhoff Lie have also been granted A-status.

Mina Fürst Holtmann, Thea Stjernesund, Maria Tviberg, Kristina Riis-Johannessen, Kaja Norbye and Marte Monsen are on the B-list.

Andrine Mårstøl, Tuva Norbye and Mariell Kufaas feature on the C-list.