The WCF has added Bolivia and Turkmenistan to its Member Associations ©WCF

Turkmenistan and Bolivia have become the latest nations to become Member Associations of the World Curling Federation (WCF), bringing the governing body's membership count up to 66.

This admission follows on from the WCF's first virtual World Curling General Assembly in September where the WCF Board approved both nations.

Now the Curling Federation of Turkmenistan and the Bolivian Curling Federation will respectively govern over the sport in their home nations.

Bolivia is set to join the Americas zone for competitions, while Turkmenistan will join the Pacific-Asia zone - which holds the second largest continental competition in curling behind the European Championships.

Bolivia is set to join the Americas zone while Turkmenistan will join Pacific-Asia ©WCF
Bolivia is set to join the Americas zone while Turkmenistan will join Pacific-Asia ©WCF

"Despite the challenges we have faced this year, I am very pleased to say that the curling family continues to grow," said WCF President Kate Caithness.

"I'm delighted to welcome Bolivia and Turkmenistan into the World Curling Federation.

"I look forward to seeing their plans to develop curling in their countries realised in the coming years."

Canada and the United States are the notable nations within the Americas zone, who have long dominated the continents, but other nations from the region include Brazil, Dominican Republic, Guyana, US Virgin Islands and Mexico.

Pacific-Asia is significantly larger, hosting nations such as Japan, China and South Korea, who have all established themselves on the world stage.

Recent additions in the zone include India and Kuwait in 2019 as well as Saudi Arabia, Afghanistan and Kyrgyzstan in 2017.

Nigeria became the first African nation to be affiliated with the WCF when it became a member in 2018 too.