Poland's wheelchair rugby team in action in the Metro Cup last year ©IWRF

Warsaw has been selected as the host for the International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) European Championship B, set to be held in the Polish capital from July 5 to 13.

The Championship will be played at the Arena Ursynów, with it being the middle tier in European competition above the Division C, which was held last year in Oviedo in Spain.

Along with the hosts Poland; Austria, Finland, Ireland, Russia and Switzerland are set to compete, as well as the Czech Republic and Israel who earned promotion from the tier below. 

The top two finishers in the the Championship will earn promotion to the Division A Championship for next year, with the bottom two being relegated. 

Poland have been involved in the sport since 1998 with their best result being fifth-place finishes in 2011 and 2017.

Eron Main, chief executive of the IWRF, said “We are very excited that Warsaw will host this year’s Division B Championship. 

"Poland is a great wheelchair rugby nation and the Metro Cup has been a fixture on the international calendar. 

"It is good to see them step up to hosting at the Championship level."

The Metro Cup has been held in Warsaw since 2012 with IWRF-recognition for the last five years.

"I’m very happy that Poland was selected as the host of the European Championship Division B 2020," Peter Kaluba, President of the Polish Wheelchair Rugby Federation, said. 

"The newly established Polish Wheelchair Rugby Federation sees this as an expression of appreciation of the efforts of the entire rugby family in Poland. 

"I would like to recognize Stowarzyszenie Sportu Osób Niepełnosprawnych and its President Tomasz Szkwara, our strategic partner for this event."