Anthony Sinisuka Ginting's Indonesia are through to the men's final ©Getty Images

Defending champions Indonesia battled past India to reach the final of the men's event at the Badminton Asia Team Championships in Manila.

Indonesia progressed to tomorrow's showpiece following a narrow 3-2 victory at Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

Their opponents will be Malaysia, who swept aside Japan 3-0 in the other men's semi-final.

In the women's event, Japan remain on course to retain their title after defeating Malaysia 3-0.

South Korea, 3-1 victors over Thailand, stand in their way of successive continental crowns.

Indonesia's men took the lead in their semi-final after Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth retired hurt when trailing Anthony Sinisuka Ginting.

Akane Yamaguchi starred as defending women's champions Japan progressed to the final ©Getty Images
Akane Yamaguchi starred as defending women's champions Japan progressed to the final ©Getty Images

Lakshya Sen restored parity for India by overcoming Jonatan Christie 21-18, 22-20, before Indonesia went back in front thanks to Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan's 21-10, 14-21, 23-21 success in their doubles clash with MR Arjun and Dhruv Kapila.

Subhankar Dey ensured the tie would go down to the final rubber when he overcame Shesar Hiren Rhustavito 21-17, 21-15.

Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo sealed Indonesia's place in the final after beating Sen and Chirag Shetty 21-6, 21-13 in the deciding doubles contest.

Defending women's champions Japan enjoyed a much smoother path to the final, winning the opening three rubbers to take an unassailable lead against Malaysia.

Akane Yamaguchi, the world number three, despatched Soniia Cheah 21-17, 21-18, before Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota ousted Lee Meng Yean and Yap Cheng Wen 21-11, 21-14 to move Japan to within one win of the final.

Sayaka Takahashi duly obliged, beating Selvaduray Kisona 21-13, 21-13 to seal victory.