Anja Wicker has won the IPC Athlete of the Month award ©Getty Images

Germany’s Anja Wicker has been named as the winner of the Allianz Athlete of the Month award for January following a public vote.

Wicker was one of five nominees for the monthly International Paralympic Committee (IPC) award.

She triumphed in the biathlon sprint competition at her home Nordic Skiing World Cup event in Altenberg during January.

The German skier saw off the challenge of last season’s overall Crystal Globe winner in biathlon, American Kendall Gretsch, to win the event.

Wicker received significant support in the public poll, with 54 per cent of the vote going to the skier.

Japan’s wheelchair tennis player Shingo Kunieda was second with 16 per cent.

Kunieda won his 44th Grand Slam title in Melbourne, equalling the total managed by Dutch legend Esther Vergeer.

He beat Britain's Gordon Reid 6-4, 6-4 in the men’s final, giving him his 10th Australian Open title.

Judoka Michelle Jorgensen placed third with 12 per cent, while fellow Canadian Kate O’Brien and Chinese alpine skier Zhang Mengqui rounded off the podium.

Jorgensen earned gold in the women’s under-70 kilogram contest at the International Blind Sports Federation Judo American Championships in Montreal.

Japan's wheelchair tennis star Shingo Kunieda placed second in the public vote ©Getty Images
Japan's wheelchair tennis star Shingo Kunieda placed second in the public vote ©Getty Images

O'Brien was nominated after breaking the 500 metres time trial WC4 world record at her first Para-Cycling Track World Championships.

She recorded a time of 35.223 seconds at the event in Milton in Canada.

O'Brien has also been nominated for the Americas Paralympic Committee’s (APC) monthly award for her performance.

Zhang had completed the shortlist after winning China's first-ever gold medal at a World Para Alpine Skiing World Cup.

This came in Veysonnaz in Switzerland, with Zhang then going on to achieve three more gold medals at the following two World Cups.

The nominations were compiled from submissions by National Paralympic Committees and International Federations.