Joey Mantia tied for the men's award with Nathan Chen ©Getty Images

Figure skater Nathan Chen and speed skater Joey Mantia have been named the first joint winners of a United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee (USOPC) monthly award since January 2009.

Chen won gold at the Internationaux de France with a score of 297.16 points, topping the field by over 30 points to qualify for his fourth consecutive International Skating Union (ISU) Grand Prix Final.

It also marked an eighth successive victory on the circuit, with the run having also helped him earned the October award.

He shares the November best male athlete prize with Mantia, who won gold at the second ISU World Cup speed skating event of the season.

BMX freestyler Nick Bruce was also nominated for the men’s award, along with climber Nathaniel Coleman and Roderick Townsend, who defended his high jump T47 world title at the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai.

Alpine skiing star Mikaela Shiffrin was named the winner of the women’s award following her 41st slalom World Cup victory.

Shiffrin’s triumph broke a 33-year-old record held by Swedish legend Ingemar Stenmark for most World Cup wins in the event.

She also become the first skier to win four World Cup races in Levi, breaking a tie with German Maria Hofl-Riesch and Austrian Marcel Hirscher.

BMX freestyler Hannah Roberts was shortlisted after clinching the world title, while long track speed skater Brittany Bowe took gold medals at the ISU World Cup season-opener in Minsk to make the list of nominees.

Mikaela Shiffrin won the women's award for November ©Getty Images
Mikaela Shiffrin won the women's award for November ©Getty Images

Cyclist Jennifer Valente and Para athletics star Deja Young completed the nominations.

The United States’ women’s sitting volleyball squad won the team of the month prize after completing an undefeated season and topping the world rankings.

Nominees included the curling team led by Korey Dropkin and the men's fencing foil team, comprising Alexander Massialas, Race Imboden, Gerek Meinhard and Nick Itkin.

Their nomination came after the team qualified for Tokyo 2020 with a World Cup win in Bonn, also maintaining their status as the number one team in the world.

The awards were voted on by fans online, with the public vote accounting for 50 per cent of the final result.

The remaining 50 per cent comes from national governing body representatives and select members of the media.