Brazil and Dominican Republic are set for a final showdown for a place at the Olympics ©Twitter/FIVB

Brazil and Dominican Republic are set for a final showdown for a place at next year's Olympic Games after winning their first two pool matches at the International Volleyball Federation Women's Intercontinental Tokyo 2020 Qualification Tournament.

Brazil kept their 100 per cent Pool D record at the Ginásio Sabiazinho in Uberlândia, although they survived a scare against Azerbaijan.

They had to come back from a set down to force a tie-break before clinching a 25-13, 23-25, 21-25, 25-19, 15-12 win.

Dominican Republic had a much more straightforward outing as they beat Cameroon 25-20, 25-19, 25-14.

Pool D is the only group to have completed two matches as all the other nations competed in their first games.

The favourites got off to strong starts as Olympic champions China eased to a 25-18, 25-23, 25-19 victory over Czech Republic on home soil at Beilun Gymnasium in Ningbo.

China are set for a fight with Turkey for the one Olympic qualifying spot from Group B after the Turks defeated Germany 27-25, 25-20, 17-25, 25-20.

In Pool A, reigning world champions Serbia had little trouble disposing of Thailand 25-15, 25-22, 25-18, while group hosts Poland also earned a 3-0 victory, beating Puerto Rico 25-18, 30-28, 25-15 at Hala Orbita in Wroclaw.

Russia started strongly with a 25-13, 25-8, 26-24 victory over Mexico, while South Korea earlier defeated Canada 21-25, 25-20, 25-19, 25-22 in Pool E DS Yantarny in Kaliningrad.

Netherlands swept neighbours Belgium 25-20, 25-15, 25-22 in Pool F, held at the PalaCatania in Catania, with hosts Italy also starting with victory, beating Kenya 25-17, 25-10, 25-14.

United States are favourites to qualify from Pool C, held at the CenturyLink Center in Bossier City, and reaffirmed that tag as they saw off Kazakhstan 25-17, 25-10, 25-10.

Bulgaria fought back to beat Argentina 24-26, 25-9, 25-18, 25-20 in the other match in the group.

The six pool winners join hosts Japan at Tokyo 2020, with the other five places filled by continental qualifiers held in January.